The Pianist Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 08/04/2019

Polanski's cinematic talents combine with Adrien Brody's tearjerking performance for excellent results.

Rating of
3/4

Carl - wrote on 11/25/2014

I watched this movie awhile ago and afterwards I thought it was a masterpiece. Just today I re-watched The Pianist and my thoughts have changed. There's no doubt Brody gave a great performance, the middle of the movie dragged but still good movie solid B 3/4. Not the type of movie to watch often.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 07/25/2014

The film is about a Jewish pianist must flee is home country as Germany invades. He is reluctant to flee and struggles to survive because of it. The acting in this film was outstanding, some of the scenes in this movie are shocking and heartbreaking.

Rating of
4/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 07/07/2013

A masterpiece.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 05/16/2012

The stark reality of the horrors of war are portrayed vividly here, reflected in the unique and immersive performance of Adrien Brody, who has never (before or after) been better. Polanski abandons his latent surrealism for a straightforward tale of survival, with music at its backbone, and the result is moving and uplifting, ultimately.

Rating of
2.5/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 01/12/2012

Polanski and an uncharismatic Adrien Brody suck much of the ardour out of the Holocaust through a desultory narrative and banal imagery with an obdurate prejudice hitherto thought possible even by those whom commonly deal with black supremacists.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/14/2011

Adrien Brody's best performance to date. This is a great historical drama.

Rating of
4/4

myfaja - wrote on 08/10/2010

I've said it before, depression makes for good movie. This is the most depressing movies I have ever seen, and it's also one of the best. The Pianist is flawless. I hard as I try, I can not think of anything bad to say about it. Adrien Brody's performance is one of the best I've ever seen. Beautifully directed and choreographed. Roman Polanski may be a pervert, but he is an amazing film maker. It's hard to watch, but at the same time, hard to stop watching. Once you start watching it, you need to know what happens to this character, and even though it pains you, you have to finish it. In the end, this film will leave you speechless. It's intense, suspenseful and powerful. A definite must-watch.

Rating of
3.5/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 08/20/2009

Utterly superb!

Rating of
3.5/4

sapien - wrote on 01/17/2009

Almost a dirty word, almost! But, definitely a great movie.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?