Movie Reviews Movies In Theaters

Rating of
3/4

MaXXXine

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/10/24

Giallo-style stalker thriller infused with a traditional Hollywood stardom fable, "MaXXXine" ends Ti West's art-house slasher trilogy on a solid (not high, but solid) note while blessing us with another knockout performance by Mia Goth.

Rating of
2/4

Beverly Hills Cop: Axel F

Indyfreak - wrote on 07/05/24
Getting too bland for this s**t

I cannot say this is a bad sequel per se but it's a very bland one. I think the best BHC sequel is 'METRO' and that's not even the same Eddie Murphy character. The plot is paint-by-numbers and the villain is super-obvious. What a shock! It's Kevin Bacon. How clever!
The opening chase scene with a snow plow is actually quite fun and lures you into thinking you'll have a fun time. A good chunk of the middle portion is focused on his estranged daughter who is not that interesting.
It's weird …

Rating of
3/4

Kinds of Kindness

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/05/24

"Kinds of Kindness" is Lanthimos returning to the smaller scale but courageously ambiguous format of "The Lobster" and "The Killing of a Sacred Deer." Fascinating even though I'm still trying to wrap my brain around it.

Rating of
2.5/4

A Quiet Place: Day One

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/03/24

Great set pieces but held together by the thinnest plot (full of holes by the way) yet in the "A Quiet Place" saga.

Rating of
3/4

Fly Me to the Moon (2024)

Amoeba Johnny - wrote on 07/02/24
A Great Date Movie Full of Laughs

I saw this movie at an early release event. It's a movie that's predictable from beginning to end. It has a bit of "will they/won't they" romance thrown in (spoilers, they will) for good measure. But the movie doesn't strive to be the next cinematic masterpiece, it's a simple story executed. It also delivers quite a few laughs, according to the theater I was in. It's a great date movie that doesn't reinvent the wheel but uses it to take you for a ride.

One thing that will irritate me, and …

Rating of
2/4

Horizon: An American Saga - Chapter One

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/29/24

What should have been an event is really a grueling exercise. I could think of a dozen other westerns I'd of rather watched than this weakly characterized and muddled epic without much scope or excitment. Not a great start for this proposed series.

Rating of
3/4

The Bikeriders

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/26/24

An often brutal, very authentic, and stunningly gorgeous snapshot of a culture even if it's more an invocation of great movies than a great movie itself.

Rating of
1/4

Trigger Warning

Indyfreak - wrote on 06/25/24

Jessica Alba looks tough but this movie is very sloppy and the action is not even that good. Another stinker from Netflix.

Rating of
3/4

Inside Out 2

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/19/24

The adventure in the sequel isn't as imaginative, but the poignant truthfulness combined with the same colorful animation and lovable characters from the original make this follow-up worth watching.

Rating of
3/4

The Bikeriders

Matthew Brady - wrote on 12/31/23
“Fists or knives?”

The Bikeriders is a welcome return from director/writer Jeff Nichols after a seven-year absence from cinema, where he presents a story from the 1960s Biker club that explores firsthand the stories and personalities.

What first started as a Motorcycle Club for bike riders to come together, ride, connect, and feel free. However, things escalate to chaotic violence and mafia-like, removing its original meaning. It gets so terrible that some want to leave, but not without a scratch or worse - a …

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?