Movie Reviews New DVD Releases

Rating of
3/4

Five Feet Apart

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/17/19

While I was never in love with it, "Five Feet Apart" was always at or above tolerable thanks to its fine performances, experienced touch, and empathetic look at what its like to both have cystic fibrosis and care for someone with it.

Rating of
3/4

Hotel Mumbai

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/15/19

While "Hotel Mumbai" is a typically very Hollywood account of a real tragedy. it isn't hard to value it for its gripping retelling of the attack.

Rating of
1/4

After (2019)

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/10/19

Probably the most uncomfortable, poisonous, and poorly timed teen romance I've ever seen. "After" is worse than the average clichéd young love flick, with its greatest offenses being the forced chemistry between its main characters, unremarkable acting, generic plot, and dreadful soundtrack, all topped off with its uncharismatic and predatory male lead who bears all the charm of Christian Grey crossed with Patrick Bateman.

Rating of
2/4

Dumbo (2019)

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/10/19

The stalest, dreariest, and most emotionless Tim Burton blockbuster dud since his last one, this "Dumbo" makes some significant changes to the classic original that unfortunately do more harm than good.

Rating of
3.5/4

The Mustang (2019)

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/09/19

The great lead performance and competent filmmaking help "The Mustang" make up for the imbalances in its themes and story.

Rating of
3/4

The Beach Bum

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/09/19

Neither above or below what I've come to expect from Harmony Korine, the episodic "Beach Bum" feels even too long for 90 minutes, but stays bearable thanks to its wild cast.

Rating of
3/4

Under the Silver Lake

Chris Kavan - wrote on 06/23/19
Compelling, Bizarre Neo Noir

A lot of people struggled with Under the Silver Lake. Both the hoi polloi at Cannes as well as general movie goers seemed confused and disinterested in director David Robert Mitchell's followup to the excellent horror film It Follows. Under the Silver Lake is certainly unique - a sun-drenched neo noir where urban legend and conspiracy theories collide, following a stoned voyeur-turned amateur sleuth in an off-kilter version of L.A. And while the film can best be summed up by, well, strange, …

Rating of
1.5/4

Captive State

ikkegoemikke - wrote on 06/22/19
I was enthusiastic when I saw the trailer.



Light a match.
Ignite a war.

When I saw the trailer of “Captive State” for the first time, I was immediately overenthusiastic. It seemed like a suspenseful and action-rich Science Fiction about extraterrestrial dominance and their reign. I already imagined myself a kind of movie as “Independence Day” or “War of the Worlds“, with a sophisticated storyline as presented in “Arrival“. Added to this is the existence of a rebellion of individuals against this alien …

Rating of
4/4

Hedwig and the Angry Inch

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/21/19

"Hedwig and the Angry Inch" is maybe the most captivating, boldest, funniest, and most touching underground glam rock musical you've probably never heard of.

Rating of
1.5/4

Wonder Park

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/21/19

There's barely a movie inside of "Wonder Park." The entire film is one big loud set piece and the animation is crude and cheap looking.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?