The Running Man Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Indyfreak - wrote on 09/16/2019

One of Arnold Schwarzenegger's weirdest but perhaps more thoughtful films, The Running Man works as a darker more adult oriented forerunner to similar films like The Hunger Games or Battle Royale. The action scenes are darkly lit but intense and violent. The dumbed-down dystopia is a pretty scathing indictment of cutthroat entertainment practices. Maria Conchita Alonso is pretty but also annoying. Richard Dawson is a lot of fun as the villain. It's juggling more ideas than perhaps there is more actual running time for the film to handle. But it's an interesting sci-fi adventure film.

Rating of
2.5/4

Ian - wrote on 09/25/2015

Solid Schwartzenegger film from the 80's. The bad guys get their just desert in typical fashion. Everything is rigged from the start but you know it's a Schwartzenegger film from the 80's, so you kind of get an idea of how it will all turn out. I'd compare it strongly to Total Recall.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 07/12/2014

The story is about a TV show "The Running Man" where he will be forced to fight or flee from sadistic killers. Arnold Schwarzenegger saying bad-ass one liners and killing people left and right, and that's why I liked this film.

Rating of
1.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 10/07/2012

A decent idea scuppered by poor production design and dreary direction. In the right hands a remake could be great.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/27/2011

The whole premise is an excuse for Arnold to run around, displaying various acts of badassery. It isn't really an incredibly smart film, but it is often an effective one and, as an entertaining action thriller, it works.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/22/2011

I enjoyed this futuristic gladiator type game. Fun Arnold movie.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 12/11/2009

I really liked this movie even though I didn't expect to like it at all.

Rating of
4/4

Ikkinbot - wrote on 08/17/2009

This movie is an absolute classic that predicted the extremes of reality TV before there was reality TV (okay so we aren't killing people on TV yet). A interesting sci-fi concept and great action.

Rating of
3/4

serioussir - wrote on 12/30/2008

Kind of a cool story. Of course, it's classic Schwarzenegger -- the good guy who has to kick a lot of butt to set everything right. I enjoy this one.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 02/26/2008

This was pretty prescient for 1987, although we haven't quite reached this level, yet, reality TV is a huge deal in this day in age. The story and casting is great, even if the technology is dated (for the future). It's still a good time.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?