Mary Poppins Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Gabe - wrote on 02/13/2015

I will admit, this movie was much better as an adult, then when I remember watching it as a child. However, it's still way too long, and it has way too many songs. I really don't know what else to say about this. It's been around so long it seems like an institution.

Rating of
3.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 08/17/2014

Best movie of 1964.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/06/2011

One of the best musical/family films I've ever seen. Such a fun movie, with an imaginative story and great music. I enjoy it more on repeated viewings.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 10/24/2011

Never mind the great soundtrack or the familiar, but lovable Dick Van Dyke antics. What makes this Disney classic shine is its interpretation of tough human issues, viewed from the eyes of children (see: the run on the bank scene and the bird-feeding woman.)

Rating of
4/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

I cannot think of a movie where the actors should be more proud of their contribution than Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke in Mary Poppins. To put it simply, magic is created on film to be shared from generation to generation.

Rating of
2.5/4

sapien - wrote on 04/01/2010

Even at my age (28) I can still catch myself whistling or humming to the tune of "a Spoonful of Sugar."

Rating of
3.5/4

shutterspeed777 - wrote on 04/24/2009

JULIE ANDREWS AN OCTAVE HIGHER. She is the magic of this film. A nice movie to watch with your children over and over again.

Rating of
3/4

serioussir - wrote on 05/21/2008

A wonderful Disney film. Andrews is wonderful. Van Dyke is funny. Loved this as a kid and still think it's quite good.

Rating of
3.5/4

TheWolf - wrote on 08/06/2007

Probably the most well know Disney film ever made. Julie Andrews is great as a nanny with special abilities much to that of a witch. She uses them to teach the children how to behave. Of course how can anyone forget Dick Van Dyke and what is considered to be the absolute worst Brittish accent in the history of film. Its so bad in fact that it is common Brittish slang to say that someone has "a Dick Van Dyke" if they have a horrible accent. The movie is a classic, fun songs, good dance numbers, and its a great movie for kids and adults.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?