Mad Max Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/06/2019

While it could use more action, the "Mad Max" that started them all has enough weight to the narrative to save it from aging as badly as it could have.

Rating of
2/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/16/2012

This movie was really dark. You go through the whole movie with the bad guys hurting and killing a lot of people. This stirred up so much hatred and anger which is always good in vengeance movies, but in the end, the vengeance was shallow and short-lived. The movie failed to deliver the reward at the end. I found this to be a painful and excruciating watch.

Rating of
2.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 10/28/2012

Mel Gibson's breakthrough film is set in a post apocalyptic outback ruled by ruthless road gangs. The budget limitations are obvious and the rest of the film fails to live up to the stunning opening chase sequence, but it does have power; particularly during the final showdown. The sequel The Road Warrior was a virtual and superior remake.

Rating of
3.5/4

Moviehead - wrote on 04/09/2012

What makes Mad Max more than just pretty good post-apocalyptic movie is atmosphere. I dont know does anyone else feel it but it works on me.((maybe because i saw this one million times, i watch it since i was ten or so) I really could feel enviroment it was set in. And most of post-apocalyptic movies do not achieve that. Mad Max has many flaws. Sometimes characters become silly. Story is not polished enough. Even directing(except road parts) could be better. But Mad Max knows how to deal with it. Its fast, full of impressive surprises and of course has great road chases. Also i have to say Australia is great place to shoot post-apocalyptic movie.

Rating of
3/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 02/17/2012

Mel Gibson as Max Rockatansky, who avenges his friend and family. the Main Force Patrol (MFP) tries to uphold the law. Creative car chases and a wonderful score make this a good action flick inspired by its themes and style that made it an instant influential popular culture.shows the potential of a young Mel Gibson. This could have been way better with improved character development and screenplay. Nevertheless, Mad Max delivers the action and represents gangs, post-apocalyptic aura and revenge at its finest.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/16/2011

Pretty gritty. Australia goes nasty, real nasty. Bleak future exercise.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/09/2011

The first Mad Max film is an inventive and fun sci-fi thriller that benefits from its sparse dialogue and unique setting. Mel Gibson channels Clint Eastwood as a tight-lipped and mysterious hero and some of the villains are genuinely grotesque and the action sequences genuinely thrilling.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/06/2011

Classic action movie. They don't make car chases this exciting anymore. Max is a great hero.

Rating of
3.5/4

Ikkinbot - wrote on 07/28/2010

Mad Max is a classic apocalypse movie and a classic sci-fi. If you call yourself a sci-fi fan you should really have seen this movie.

Rating of
2.5/4

The Movie Man - wrote on 05/23/2009

Mad Max is a low budget film from the late 70's about a man who seeks revenge on the people who murdered his wife and child. The problem i have is that the murder AND revenge don't happen until the last half hour of the 93 minute movie. so for the first hour, nothing happens. Mel Gibson is okay in the lead(for what it's worth), but the other other characters are terrible. The only other good thing about this movie is George Hills direction.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?