Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 01/18/2014

Based on the book by J.K. Rowling. A boy finds out he is a wizard and that he was excepted to the Magic School, Hogwarts. It's a year filled with finding new friends and learning about new and old enemies. This movie has cartoonist visual effect's and corner writing but the movie has a sweet heart to it.

Rating of
3/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

A little lighter than the later (and superior) films, but this was a great entry for the franchise. Pure magical fun!

Rating of
1.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 09/24/2012

A serviceable enough children's film but it's just crammed with rehashed, cliched old ideas and obvious sight gags and decorated with over-used and terribly dated CGI. Why anyone over the age of twelve should concern themselves with such juvenile escapism is extremely puzzling to me.

Rating of
4/4

johnny black - wrote on 08/10/2012

After seeing this film it was clear to me that this was the beginning of a serious pop culture phenomenon. clever humor and wonderfully entertaining fantasy.great film

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 04/09/2012

A great start to a spectacular series: the first Harry Potter film sets the tone for the films to come. It's full of comedy, energy, amazing visuals, and some fun and familiar characters. One of the series' most magical and best entries.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 06/15/2011

So very faithful to the book and a great starting point for the film series. Gets everything right that an introduction film should. It's entertaining enough, but the kid friendly nature gives no feeling of danger and there is a slight absence in emotion. All that aside, it's still full of good fun and whimsy.

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 08/20/2009

Accurate and brilliant. A great family flick that I watch every single time I catch it on ABC Family.

Rating of
3/4

Gabe - wrote on 07/10/2009

I good, but not great adaptation of the book. Chris Columbus has to cut some scenes from the novel. As an introduction to what has become a pretty good film franchise this is great fun. But, John Williams, it sounds like just got lazy with his score, if you listen hard enough you can here a few themes from Star Wars in it.

Rating of
4/4

Shelly - wrote on 02/25/2008

After reading the other movie reviews, I am disappointed that many other people did not share my zest for this fresh new movie. Not onlly were the effects amazing to watch, the plot line followed the book - which is unusual since it was so long of a book. I enjoyed the acting, the plot, and the effects and have actually watched the movie numerous times. One that I will see again and again!!

Rating of
2.5/4

TheWolf - wrote on 07/24/2007

I had never read the books when I saw the movie. I didn't know what to expect as I was under the impression that the books would be just too childish. I finally read them after Goblet of Fire was in print. Needless to say I am hooked. I like that they decided to stick with a mostly unknown cast, with the exception of Richard Harris and Robbie Coltrane the rest of the cast was not one that many Americans could identify as people they have seen before in any truely memorable roles. This has been a great establishing point for the 3 primary characters, now to see if they can escape the "Star Wars Curse" that kept many of the actors pigeonholed into specific characters.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?