Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon ( Wo hu cang long ) Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/04/2019

Ang Lee's masterpiece gives more depth to the martial art film genre.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 03/27/2012

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is a beautiful and poetic martial arts film that focuses more on strikingly beautiful choreography, rather than brutal action. Each scene and shot is composed so perfectly that, even in the smallest details, there is art and beauty. To top it off, the action is supported by a meaty romantic storyline that feels genuine and complements the fight scenes.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/06/2011

The first of the seemingly endless wave of high flying wire work foreign films. I still consider this one the best of them.

Rating of
3.5/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 08/21/2009

Beautifully directed. Ang Lee is a master.

Rating of
4/4

shutterspeed777 - wrote on 04/25/2009

Ok, when I was about to see this movie, my question was, "WHAT ARE THEY GOING TO SHOW ME THAT I HAVEN'T SEEN BEFORE?" After watching this one, my response was, "A LOT!" Look, I've seen tons of flying Chinese bamboos and porcupines but this is something else ! My whole conclusion was, as technology progresses, and the ability to narrow down the gap between fantasy/scifi and reality improves, we will be seeing the whole cinematic art in a completely new light. This opens the door to that new age...

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 11/13/2008

The special effects in this movie are awesome. And, the story is pretty good as well. So, all in all, not a bad movie at all.

Rating of
3/4

CJP - wrote on 10/29/2008

Action: 3/3 + Comedy: 1/2 + Good vs Evil: 1/1 + Love/Sex: 1/1 + Special Effects: 1/1 + Plot: 0/1 + Music: 1/1 = 8/10 or 80%. Ziyi Zhang completely steals the show here and upstages everyone. Even if one is not paying close attention the culmination of the end to this romance-tragedy forces one to realize it's her story. Aside from a far less than weak plot, the performances and fight executions will make a believer out of you.

Rating of
4/4

Allison - wrote on 11/16/2007

Amazing. Especially since I wasn't in the mood for subtitles, this movie captured everything beautifully. The young actress was good and I loved the story and the fighting. Not to be missed. Every movie in this vein has let me down before or since. This movie is unique and set apart. And the best. 10/10

Rating of
4/4

GGauthier - wrote on 08/13/2007

I went to see this one without having a clue what's going to be, except the those were going to fly, wich seemed cool. After finishing it, I realized that finished a masterpiece. Yo Yo Ma's score is incredible. The acting is perfect and the chinese landscapes are to die for. A movie that will last forever, and a very good way of entering into foreign films. One of the best love stories ever.

Rating of
4/4

TheWolf - wrote on 07/25/2007

The design of this movie was captivating. This is one of the few movies that I just can't help but watch over and over again. Each time it seems just as nice as it did the first time. Each of the environments were so rich that the movie could pretty much consider them to be a character as well. I really loved seeing this one on the big screen, and it is a prize for anyones collection.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?