The Master Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/04/2019

It may not be a purposeful experience for everyone, but "The Master" is a well-acted smart drama that can be reasonably applied to the modern age of spiritual hunger.

Rating of
2.5/4

Rod - wrote on 09/07/2014

Solid performances but I think the film suffered how they would actually connect every character's story. The subplots seemed not to fit perfectly on the over-all idea of the film, but then again, very good acting from everyone.

Rating of
3.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 12/27/2013

When I first watched The Master I didn't really like it that much. I thought the movie was slow and kind of dull on my first viewing, but after re watching it for a second time, I really liked this movie and the film did grow on me after awhile. Joaquin Phoenix, Amy Adams and Philip Seymour Hoffman were absolutely brilliant in this movie, as I think this is the best I've ever seen from them. The cinematography was perfectly shot, the writing was great and Paul Thomas Anderson directing was superb. The Master is a work of art.

Rating of
2/4

Gabe - wrote on 07/16/2013

What a disappointing film. It's supposed to be about Scientology, and I get that legally, they couldn't use that term, but, I did not get that sense at all. The acting was powerful, but Phoenix and Hoffman are always great. I'm beginning to think that Anderson is getting too full of himself. He really hasn't made a great film since Boogie Nights, yes I'm including There Will Be Blood in that statement. Hoffman was nothing like L. Ron Hubbard, the founder of Scientology, then again, maybe this film wasn't about that topic at all. But nevertheless, i didn't care for it, which is too bad because I had very high expectations for it.

Rating of
3.5/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

Just another terrific piece of filmmaking from Paul Thomas Anderson. Not a film that's to be liked as much as it is one simply to be experienced.

Rating of
4/4

Patrik - wrote on 02/10/2013

I have never seen anything quite like this. I had high expectations though i really didn't know what to expect. They were all fulfilled. Acting doesn't get better than what Phoenix and Hoffman shows here. From the way Anderson tells the story to all the achievements, technical and acting is fantastic! It deserves more recognition than what it got. It is hard to understand at some times yes, because there are several answers to the questions raised. You just have to do some own thinking and progressing afterwards.

Rating of
4/4

Jake - wrote on 11/04/2012

Everything is tops across the board, as is usual with any Paul Thomas Anderson film. The acting is some of the best you'll see all year (if Pheonix doesn't get the Oscar I'll be SHOCKED! Hoffman deserves one as well.) The music by Jonny Greenwood is delicious. Cinematography is dazzling to say the least. It may be incredibly perplexing in the long run, but I'm already looking forward to repeat viewings.

Rating of
2/4

Nick - wrote on 10/09/2012

This movie does not live up to the hype. The only reason to watch this film is for the acting. The acting is top notch. The story is boring, lacks direction, and has no climax or conclusion. The movie is pretty long and is quite boring at times. It was hard to keep focus. It will most definitely be an Oscar contender, falls into that stereotypical category Oscar movies are known for. The only thing I got out of the movie was this, when it comes down to it, both main characters, who are quite different people, are really very much the same, they are both crazy fools.

Rating of
2.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 09/30/2012

There is great filmmaking at work here. Top tier in every department, especially the acting. Despite all this, the film left me dry emotionally. The story was never focused and Joaquin Phoenix's character was tough to read. I liked what I saw, I just wasn't engaged at all.

Rating of
3/4

Alex - wrote on 09/29/2012

Not as good as There Will Be Blood. I like it more now, 3 weeks after seeing it, then I did when I first saw it. My expectations were too high. This is still a very good movie and recommend that everyone checks it out. If it wins Best Picture, I will be a bit angry, but only because There Will Be Blood was much better and was not given a chance.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?