The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/07/2019

David Fincher's version has some significant changes but keeps the dark and ardent atmosphere of the 2009 film, however it's hardly a match for the Swedish original.

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 06/30/2014

Disgraced journalist Mikael Blomkvist teams up with a brilliant hacker and loner Lisbeth Salander in order to solve a 40-year-old mystery that has plagued the scion of a powerful family. David Fincher you did it again, You made another dark but brilliant film. the last time I sawed Rooney Mara was in the 2010 remake a nightmare on elm street and she was terrible in that movie but in this film she is fantastic and to be honest I never know she was a great actress, Daniel Craig was also great in this film and so did the other cast.

Rating of
3.5/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/30/2013

I loved it! I personally liked it a lot more than the Swedish version (both are brilliant films). A little long. Rooney Mara is brilliant, we'll be hearing about her in the future. The opening credits are super stylish and epic.

Rating of
4/4

Ivana - wrote on 06/28/2013

Mikael Blomkvist, a journalist in problems, receives the commit to investigate the missed member of a abashed family. He start to work with Lisbeth Salander, a victim of a sick society where "Men hate women", as his original tittle, who the attention will be focused in this hero post-modern psycho-punk. This thriller fathoms in the personal relationships, oriented to make justice against those powerful monsters. Astonishing soundtracks, and good actors performance in this dark movie.

Rating of
3/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/31/2012

I have not read the book, and had no intention of checking this movie out in the first place. My wife had other plans. So I sat on my couch awaiting what I thought was going to be a shallow and far-reaching movie. This is actually a great crime/detective thriller with great characters and great acting. The rape scene was far too brutal for me. I guess some people might think that adds to some kind of anger to keep the movie going, but I thought it was unnecessary and disturbing. Other than that, this was a fantastic movie and is definitely worth the rental.

Rating of
3/4

Ean Vali - wrote on 10/15/2012

A writer ends up, writing the history of a ritch family. He is hired to search what happened with one of the family members. Along his search he gets help of a strange, bit looney, girl..... Nice done! Good story. Bit of a disappointing ending.

Rating of
3/4

Rod - wrote on 05/25/2012

Journalist Mikael Blomkvist and computer hacker, tattooed girl Lisbeth Salander teamed-up to investigate a 40-year old case of a girl's disappearance. *** Very good! Job well done by David Fincher. Smartly adapted and excellently executed. Daniel Craig effortlessly did his part, as well as Rooney Mara's naked (and nominated) performance. Not much of the story but it appeared really thrilling and the drama interesting. I didn't expect for a film's romantic angle, but it worked anyway.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 02/14/2012

Fincher's version of the Swedish film is competent and shrewdly directed for American audiences. I have to say, though, that I found the Swedish original to be superior, both in style and content. The update, while entertaining, effective, and well-done, doesn't really tread on much new territory. The best part of the film is Rooney Mara's fearless and dark portrayal of the nuanced Lisbeth Salander, which, I think, rivals Noomi Rapace's original performance. The atmospheric soundtrack by Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross is also very effective.

Rating of
3/4

serioussir - wrote on 01/18/2012

Since I had already seen the Swedish version of this film and thought it was extremely well done, I wasn't sure how well Rooney Mara could fill Noomi Rapace's shoes as the tough, complex and wonderfully brilliant, Lisbeth Salander. Rooney did it superbly. Very dark and disturbing film, however, and not appropriate for anyone under 18.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/24/2011

It may seem confusing at the beginning, but the film soon finds it's way in presenting this dark and brutal tale. This won't be for everyone, because of the slow pace and elongated plot. However, If you have patience, the reward is pretty great. It's refreshingly non-mainstream material that forces you to figure out the mystery along with the characters and I that's why I enjoyed it.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?