Metropolis Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 11/20/2015

Metropolis is one of the most visually impressive movie I've ever seen. It's creative look on the future of Metropolis is both stunning and unique. I'm still blown away from the visuals in this movie, because with a movie that's been released back in the 1920's and looks more convincing compared to the effect's today is really saying something. What I love about this movie is the imagination and the wonder that Metropolis presents is a treat to the eyes. Metropolis is one of the best silent movies I have ever see. The cinematography is magnificent, the film making itself is jaw dropping and this movie should be seen only on the big screen.

Rating of
2/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

I hated it. Interesting, classic, but odd, cheesy, and annoying. Overly dramatic. Brigitte Helm is creepy as hell.

Rating of
0.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 09/24/2012

I am tempted to give this seminal piece full marks for the sole purpose of not appearing like a philistine. But the remarkable transformation scene aside, this actually bored me to tears...the visuals are years ahead of their time but after two solid hours of pantomime over-acting and sledgehammer political musings I was losing the will to live...

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 03/08/2012

Wow - easily tops the list of all silent films I have seen to this point. Epic in scope and even with the political overtones, it's easy to see why this is considered such a ground-breaking film. I saw the restored version, and even with the over 2 hour length, I was never bored Simply a film that needs to be seen by any fan of film or sci-fi.

Rating of
3.5/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 11/11/2011

The "head" creator of the city is Joh Fredersen. His son Freder discovers a good natured teacher named Maria. Grot is the main hand that controls the cities Heart machine. Rotwang creates a machine man.and eventually goes deranged over the image of Maria. A wonderful silent film that incorporates themes of love, trust and fair labor. The score really brings out the life of the black and white picture. Metropolis could have been the major influence of several sci-fi flicks with scenes similar to The Fifth Element, Dark City, I-Robot, Surrogates, etc. I

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/12/2011

Despite some obvious political commentary (that didn't quite gel with the rest of the film for me), this film paints an iconic dystopian universe with great visual scope. It set the stage for epic sci-fi adventure films to come. The Matrix, for one, is obviously heavily influenced by this film.

Rating of
2.5/4

sapien - wrote on 11/13/2008

It definitely is a political piece, first and foremost. And, since I agree with the basic political message, then that gives it points automatically in my book. But, besides that, it has a very intriguing plot. Although, the ending leaves much to be desired.

Rating of
1.5/4

Allison - wrote on 12/21/2007

I love Fritz Lang (the director) but have never cared for this film. And usually I like silent films too and this is considered to be a masterpiece. However, I'd go with M (also by Fritz Lang).

Rating of
3.5/4

Alex - wrote on 08/23/2007

Many people have compared this to "The Matrix." While it is similar, it is actually very close to "Dark City." Metropolis is a silent movie you need to see to appreciate. You must see this if you are a true sci fi fan!

Rating of
4/4

GGauthier - wrote on 08/10/2007

As a sci-fi fan you have to see this one. It's a perfect movie. Perfect acting, music, direction. What about the art of the movie? Oh man... Lang was a genius. This movie has scenes that are "prophetic". Every day when I go up the stairs of the subway to work, It came this movie to my mind. Remember when you watch it: It's 80 years old. 80. Best silent ever.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?