The Texas Chainsaw Massacre Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/17/2019

Gruesome, yet unexpectedly artistic, the original "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" was ahead of its time in terms of teen slasher horror, making it so deservingly influential.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 08/18/2014

Old Man: "Look what your brother did to the door!". This movie made me feel dirty and unclean deep inside of me, which is what the movie is about. A gruesome look at the dark side of the world. The movie does hold anything back it just goes for it, making this movie a gritty horror flick with strong and hard to watch gore scenes.

Rating of
3/4

smokiediebear - wrote on 08/30/2012

The movie that made a town come to life or death rather. Lower budget but instant classic. A must for horror lovers, this is a older movie so the young may find it boring, and if so the remakes will be better for you.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/13/2011

The original. What can be done with a limited budget and a talented filmmaker. Not a gorefest, but plenty unsettling..

Rating of
2/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 11/20/2011

Here's the explanation of the rating: Texas Chainsaw Massacre is undeniably a masterfully made horror film. It implies more than it shows and its low-budget, documentary-style filmmaking style creates a genuinely unsettling and often horrifying film. Since this is my personal rating, however, I didn't find anything to take away from the film and found it to be a depressing and bleak portrait of hopelessness.

Rating of
4/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/19/2011

Watch it with the lights out Early In The Morning

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 05/24/2011

A flat out classic. One of the greatest low-budget horror films ever made. It's also one of the scariest.

Rating of
4/4

The Film Rebel - wrote on 08/19/2010

Made out to be a gorefest, it shows half the violence in JAWS. But that don't think that takes away from the movie. Its one of the most shocking and disturbing films you'll EVER see in your life.

Rating of
3/4

BmovieJosh - wrote on 10/05/2009

Simply a classic. Gunnar Hanson possibly being the only true 'leatherface' out there. None of the newer hacks can do it like Gunnar. Inspired by the brutal man Ed Gein, this film is about a deminted man, with an even more deminted family, sawing up the innocent who travel through their life. A horror classic indeed.

Rating of
1/4

Tia Maria - wrote on 11/03/2008

Does anyone else but me find this strange: that a girl would scream over scenes from The Exorcist, but not show the slightest hint of fright from watching this film?? Well this girl was my friend.I guess it must of been because of how stupid those teenagers in the movie really were. Come on, if you're going to make a horror movie its gotta at least be realistic, not make these teenagers do things that would never be done in reality, just to make the story line work. The one aspect I liked of this movie is that Jessica Biel.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?