Hairspray Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 09/08/2014

Hairspray the 2007 remake is a fun musical that fans of the original will enjoy, but me I thought it's a Matinee film.

Rating of
2/4

Rod - wrote on 05/27/2012

Fun and enjoyable musical!

Rating of
4/4

gzn - wrote on 12/29/2011

I love this musical. The story is strong and meaningful and the very serious 'message' is delightfully gift-wrapped. Brilliantly cast, the songs are irresistibly toe-tapping with many a clever pastiche including Seaweed's evocation of Marvin Gaye. John Travolta paced his role to perfection. I wish they would bring out a DVD with dance routines to learn and song words - perfect rainy day entertainment!

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 10/31/2011

Upbeat and fun. A lighthearted musical that has some good song and dance.

Rating of
3/4

Ikkinbot - wrote on 11/15/2009

A campy fun musical with a message of equality. The original hairspray is good, but I think I prefer the remake. John Travolta and Christopher Walken are very funny together. Adam Shankman did a really good job with the movie and it still works now.

Rating of
3.5/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 08/18/2009

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie in every way. I saw the show on stage and didn't think it would do well as a movie [and despite popular belief, the 1988 version wasn't a musical] in its new form. I will say that when I found out that John Travolta was going to be Edna, I kinda made a vomit face [you know the one I mean], but was pleasantly surprised when it all worked out. Adam Shankman is a great director/choreographer and the cast is just pleasant as peach punch and engaging as I'll get out. A great flick to take your chick to.

Rating of
4/4

Purplicious81 - wrote on 03/16/2009

An outstanding movie with the classic Broadway plot! The songs are amazing, the dancing is phenomenal, and the acting is spontaneous. Makes you want to jump up on your feet and start doing all the old dances. It's very colorful and a very nice family flick to watch when you're in a down mood. I recommend this movie to everyone if you haven't seen it already, you need to! Enjoy!

Rating of
4/4

Ollievee79 - wrote on 08/08/2008

This movie is pure fun. You can't help but smile and feel good when you watch it. The music is catchy, the costumes and sets are bright and colorful, and the story is sweet. This movie was hysterical too. John Travolta gets on my nerves, but I was able to over look that fact because the rest of the cast is great. I also liked the fact that this movie had a message without beating you over the head with it. It found a way to get it's message of equality across in a fun way. It rocked!

Rating of
2.5/4

Hidde - wrote on 06/16/2008

Fun to watch. I didn't really like the story but i like the music, it's catchy.

Rating of
3/4

thewhiteraven - wrote on 04/07/2008

A lot of my friends had watched this movie and seemed to love it, so I decided to watch it... And I could easily see why they loved it. Having never seen the older version of it or the musical, I really had no clue what the movie was about so I didn't have any expectations. The catchy tunes actually make you want to dance even if you've never wanted to before. It was a little corny and unbelievable at times but that's all part of the fun!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?