Moneyball Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/30/2013

Really good film! Great script from Aaron Sorkin, and solid performances all around.

Rating of
2.5/4

Nick - wrote on 02/20/2012

I haven't enjoyed very many sports movies over the last few years. And when you target baseball as the sport, my expectations were even less cause baseball is a fairly boring sport to showcase in a movie. But this movie is much more than just about baseball, it is a movie about business ideas and going against the norm, to prove something. Jonah Hill would never have been my choice for the role of Peter Brand, but after seeing the movie, he does a decent job. This movie was interesting to watch, and may not be the best the movie of the year by any means, but is worth watching once.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 02/02/2012

While baseball does figure in the the whole scheme of things, this is not so much a sports film as a drama that happens to feature baseball. Jonah Hill can pull off drama, Brad Pitt and Philip Seymour Hoffman are likewise well cast and the story is a great watch even for people who hate baseball.

Rating of
3/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 01/24/2012

The General Manager of Oakland Athletics baseball team, Billy Beane, attempts to assemble a competitive team. He seeks assistance from Peter Brand (Jonah Hill), a young Yale economics graduate, to revue the player's value. A wonderful look at the business side of a major sport. Style of direction with additional facts and videos utilized were a good touch. If only they have something in the basketball side. Moneyball is money for this type of genre.

Rating of
3/4

serioussir - wrote on 01/18/2012

As I have never thought Brad Pitt could pull off a meaty dramatic roll, I was quite surprised how good this film is. Jonah Hill does a fantastic job as the nerdy genius behind the winning method. Entertaining, even for non-baseball fans.

Rating of
3/4

Gabe - wrote on 01/15/2012

First things first, I haven't read the book yet as of today 1-15-12. Although it is currently in my to read pile. Brat Pitt is great as Billy Beane, as is Philip Seymour Hoffman as A's manager Art Howe. They are what make this such a great sports movie. It's not too saccharine, there's no happy ending, but you truly do care about the characters. And even though everyone knows the ending, it keeps your attention. It also doesn't focus too much on the sport itself, but the business side of baseball. Which is good, But, you don't have to have an economics degree from Yale to understand this film. The math is kept simple. See this now.

Rating of
3/4

Alex - wrote on 01/14/2012

A very solid movie. I don't like sports movies but I love baseball. This one seems less like a sports movie and more like a business movie. Pitt was awesome and even Hill was great. Glad to see my favorite sport getting some love! Having said that, this is not one of the 10 best films of 2011.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 01/12/2012

More than just a sports film. This is a human drama that is true to it's real life story. It's well written, has a great performance from Brad Pitt and never bores with all of it's talking of players and statistics.

Rating of
3.5/4

Rod - wrote on 12/24/2011

After loosing three key players from their team, Billy Beane (Brad Pitt) has to fill the vacant slots while dealing with their very low budget. With his new assistant Peter Brand (Jonah Hill), they invented a new strategy of getting players for their team- "Moneyball". *** Definitely a good one! Exceptional story and excellent direction. Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill were both well-used on this particular movie. I am not a baseball fan but I had a great time watching this film. This is what I am looking for, a drama deep inside. And I love how money framed as neither an accessory of the hero nor the villain. Everything ran smoothly, except that song "The Show". Why that song? Seriously? Well, good thing it is a good song. =)

Rating of
2.5/4

sapien - wrote on 10/21/2011

This movie was better than what I thought it'd be. But, I should've expected more given that it's a Brad Pitt movie. I mean, he makes really good movies.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?