X-Men: First Class Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 06/15/2014

X-Men: First Class - great cast, great atmosphere, terrible canon.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 02/09/2014

Explores the early relationship of Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr when they were friends, long before they took the names Professor X and Magneto, and the rift that forms between turning them to arch-enemies. This movie is better then x-men origins wolverine now that movie sucked. okay x-men first class as good visual effect's and good make-up.

Rating of
3/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

Excellent, I loved it. I was expecting something more like Wolverine, but this was a fantastic movie. Not only a brilliant addition to the X-Men series, but it's the best of the series! The reason I say that this is the best of the series is because it delivers in more areas than the previous films did...First Class is very deep. For once I felt for the characters, I actually cared about what happened to them and how they interacted with each other. Credit must go to the cast because their performances contributed to this, especially James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender. McAvoy gives a great performance as Professor X, and Fassbender is incredible as Magneto. (You will see Erik/Magneto in a whole new light).

Rating of
4/4

tecnoandre - wrote on 12/28/2011

A film by Matthew Vaughn and produced by Bryan Singer, based on the X-Men characters appearing in Marvel Comics. The fifth installment in the X-Men series, the film acts as a prequel for the X-Men trilogy, being set primarily in 1962 during the Cuban Missile Crisis. It focuses on the relationship between Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr and the origin of their groups, the X-Men and the Brotherhood of Mutants. The film stars James McAvoy as Xavier and Michael Fassbender as Lensherr. Other cast members include Kevin Bacon, January Jones, Rose Byrne, Jennifer Lawrence, ZoŽ Kravitz, Nicholas Hoult and Lucas Till. Masterpiece super-hero movie , with stunning screenplay, effects and performances.Maybe the best superhero movie ever!

Rating of
4/4

Owens Film Reviews - wrote on 10/07/2011

Only one word to describe this film and that is AMAZING..the special effects used in this production was out of this world. The cast was a suprise though James McAvoy wouldnt be my choice to play a young Charles Xavier but he managed to pull it off amazingly. The plot was good and the acting brilliant. I like the fact that we found out how Charles And Erik meet and how the mansion was used to begin with and why Erik turned into Magneto and how Xavier came to be in a wheelchair...so overall a very enjoyable film, i for one will be getting the dvd when it is released.

Rating of
3.5/4

Rod - wrote on 10/04/2011

"X-Men: First Class" re-introduces professor X and Magneto as Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr, respectively. This new X-Men movie brings us back to the time when Professor X and Magneto were friends which also leads us to how they become enemies. *** I saw X-Men movie before, and honestly speaking, I understand little- close to nothing. This X-Men refreshes its audience and effectively introduce to the new ones. Matthew Vaughn is of my favorite directors, he done this one smooth and clean, though some set, props sorta turned me off. But the rest, the actors and other visual effects are awesome. Very good, I like this so much that I actually want to see more X-Men movies.

Rating of
3/4

Nick - wrote on 06/24/2011

A fairly good movie filling in the story line of how X-Men started. It seemed to be lacking something, which I can't quite pin-point. It was good, but won't be a remembered movie. Maybe it is because I never really engaged with any of the characters, being used to the characters (and actors playing them) from the later movies. This movie is definitely better than Wolverine. The action is good, story is ok. The unexpected cameo of Hugh Jackman is maybe one the best scenes, even though it was very brief.

Rating of
4/4

Expatriate Taxes - wrote on 06/24/2011

The best of the X-Men...I really hope they continue this:)

Rating of
3/4

Alex - wrote on 06/14/2011

One of the better prequels I have ever seen. I wouldn't consider this a 3.5 or a 4 star movie but it is well done, well acted, and decently directed. McAvoy is really good through most of the movie (though gets annoying towards the end). He is a good actor and this movie proves he can do any role. A very solid comic movie, tied with X2.

Rating of
4/4

patjohnson76 - wrote on 06/11/2011

Finally, an X-Men movie that strikes the perfect balance between story and action. Whereas other films have tried to focus on one or the other, Matthew Vaughn gets it right here as we see the beginnings of the X-Men and the early friendship of Professor X and Magneto. A cast that seems too good to be true helps (particularly Jennifer Lawrence and Nicholas Hoult as Mystique and Beast). All said, I'm hoping this film does enough business to jump-start the franchise so we can see where these characters go from here.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?