Let Me In Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/18/2019

"Let the Right One In" saw a fresh take on the vampire genre, but this mostly tensionless American remake feels dry and well below the original.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 04/26/2014

The film is about a young bullied boy befriends a new neighbor who happens to be a vampire. This movie may not be as good as the original film but this movie was a bit slow but i liked this movie.

Rating of
3/4

Tjommi - wrote on 08/05/2012

Most things that I wanted to say here is allready said by the other excellent reviewers here on this site. However I do want to share a couple of thoughts on this movie. This movie is put in the drama box, and I do agree to that, however I would absolutely not show this to or watch this movie together with children. The movie is slow paced, but for this one this is a good thing. You never get bored, because of the great directing and it got a very creepy athmosphere that keep on getting darker and darker as the movie progresses. This is a different take on the typical vampire movie where the movie focuses on the connection and the relationship between Owen and Abby.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/16/2011

Retains everything that made the Swedish film great. The only difference here that I didn't like was the obvious use of CG in two particular scenes. However, that is easily overlooked by the two lead kid actors, who really do make this movie feel more personal than the original. Because of this, I find it just slightly better than the Swedish version.

Rating of
3/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 12/11/2011

Setting is 1983, Owen (Kodi Smit-McPhee) gets bullied and meets Abby (Chloë Grace Moretz). Abby has a couple of victims including her dad Thomas (Richard Jenkins) who meets an accident. Owen eventually discovers the real nature of Abby. A police offer breaks in Owen’s place and is killed. The kids pick on Owen again led by Jimmy. The score and soundtrack were wonderful while its character build-up was splendid. Some shots and sequences were a bit long though but the horrific scenes were done well. Let Me In brings the scares and the kids performances were believable.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 11/24/2011

A great horror film that succeeds at being simultaneously scary and having a touching emotional story at its heart. My one caveat is that, of course, it's a remake of a foreign film, condensed for American audiences and, thus, not original. The film is certainly made with top-notch skill involved - from the acting, to the cinematographic/directing choices, to the subtle soundtrack. However, the things the film does best - the coming-of-age connection between the two young leads, for instance - are ripped entirely from the original film and, frankly, that one is just a tad bit better.

Rating of
3/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 07/31/2011

This has to be 1 of the best vampire flicks I've ever seen & I HATE vampire flicks! If I had to choose, I'd pick this version over Let The Right One In any day.I couldn't really get into LTROI & it felt like just another vampire flick but LMI had my interest right from the start & this flick was WAY better

Rating of
2/4

☠ kyrstin. ♒ - wrote on 06/16/2011

I am biased without completely trying to be, but it's just no remake can hold a candle to my beloved original Swedish version of this film. However, I think their attempt did it more justice than most remakes I have seen of movies I loved. I'm happy for that, the acting was decent, the cinematography was lovely like the Swedish one, it seemed to try a little more to be creepy/horror than the Swedish one did, but overall it was alright.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 03/02/2011

Measures up to the original in my book - the casting was good and the story was, for the most part, unchanged - just moved the setting. A few of the special effects were a bit too apparent, but that's what you get with a higher budget. Overall, if you like the original, this is good. If you hate subtitles, watch this instead.

Rating of
3/4

The Film Rebel - wrote on 10/24/2010

Being a fan of the original Swedish film, I wasn't expecting much. But what I got was very satisfying. Overall a very frightening film.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?