The General Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 08/26/2012

Likable comic adventure. The train sequences are quite fun.

Rating of
3/4

Moviehead - wrote on 04/05/2012

Old film that still can entertain you and much more than average comedy

Rating of
3.5/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 11/29/2011

A Civil War breaks and train engineer Johnnie Gray (Keaton) is rejected by the Army because of his value in the South. Annabelle Lee (Marion Mack) becomes a prisoner of a stolen train. The settings and story were well though of. Keaton's talents are in full throttle here. Still not enough laughs on the flick but the premise and soundtrack were entertaining. The General had one of the best stunts in its time and is one of the influential comedies produced.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/12/2011

Buster Keaton's energetic antics drive this crazy adrenaline ride. It's one physically-taxing sight gag after another and, despite its age, the film still holds up today as being very funny and entertaining.

Rating of
3/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 06/06/2011

I thought it was 1926. Amazing. Every kid should get to view this to discover how comedy originated.

Rating of
4/4

sapien - wrote on 11/04/2008

Next to Laurel and Hardy's Way Out West, this is the best comedy movie there is. Few comics are funnier than Keaton. And, this is by far his best work.

Rating of
2/4

fake_username - wrote on 02/25/2008

I found this movie to be comically mundane and emotionally shallow. This is certianly not Keaton's best work, try Sherlock Jr. which is not only a great Keaton picture but one of the greatest silent era films.

Rating of
4/4

brendoman - wrote on 12/04/2007

This was my introduction to silent films and remains my favorite. Buster Keaton is INSANE. Just watch the movie and you'll know what I'm talking about. This is the physical comedy your grandparents talk about and damn are they right. After watching this I can actually understand the argument that some make that in many ways the silent films were a more pure experience. These actors really had to give it their all. If you get to see this with any kind of live accompaniment instead of just some crappy public domain music, be sure to do that.

Rating of
4/4

Alex - wrote on 01/06/2007

Close (if not the best) to be the best silent film of all time. I really connected with the characters through this one. It almost entirely takes place on a rail track and is brilliantly filmed. If you can sit through a silent - you must see this one!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?