True Romance Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Indyfreak - wrote on 12/27/2018

Tony Scott and Quentin Tarantino's stylized action-romance boasts an eccentric cast of memorable characters. Each new face trying to beat the other ones' scene chewing. Christian Slater and Patricia Arquette fit the Bonnie-&-Clyde roles well. Gary Oldman is especially intimidating as the scarred dreadlocked pimp Drexl Spivey.

Rating of
3/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/27/2012

The dialogue just screams Tarantino. Every line was dissected and intentional, which is what makes conversations so interesting in all Tarantino films. It had that and it has the violence of Tarantino's style. What it didn't have and what it lacked was Tarantino in the director's chair. This movie was alright, but the performances, score, and final shoot-out scene lacked the Tarantino-esque style necessary to make this film better than it was. I enjoyed it, but I found it pretty flat. I love Slater in this movie. He is cool and nerdy at the same time.

Rating of
3/4

johnny black - wrote on 07/30/2012

i did think this was a good film for its raw and original storyline and delivery. however i dont think here are any singled out performances that beg for specific recognition. but as a whole this film definitely has depth

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 01/19/2012

This weird and atmospheric violent tale reminded me a lot of Wild at Heart in that it populates a typical thriller with enough outlandish characters to feel unique. The odd romance of Christian Slater and Patricia Arquette works in an offbeat way and Brad Pitt is awesome in an early role as Slater's always stoned roommate.

Rating of
4/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/09/2011

I love this movie. Brad Pitt as a stoner is perfect. This film is loaded with talented actors. The leads play off each other very well and their romance is a different one. I've watched this many times. Romance, criminals, violence...what's not to love?

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/29/2011

Great writing from Tarantino shines through this fun crime movie.

Rating of
4/4

Armando Sanchez - wrote on 11/14/2011

Tony Scott may have directed this film,but it's still a Tarantino film! this film explodes with amazing characters, dialogue, and awesome death scenes.this film is truly amazing.Tarantino creates a world all of his own,truly amazing.the passion,violence in this film is amazingly written in a way like no other.it begs you to wonder how Tarantino wrote such an amzing script with so many loveable characters.amazing film! see it over and over again! 30 years from now,this film will still be considered a classic.

Rating of
1.5/4

deaddan2000 - wrote on 10/19/2010

You could tell this was a Tarantino script because of all the random as hell characters (Gary Oldman in dreadlocks was hard to watch). However, the weird Jamaican style soundtrack really killed this movie for me. It would have been a lot better with a more serious score or at least more licensed songs. Watching Patricia Arquette get the shit kicked out of her by Tony Soprano should be disturbing, but....it wasn't. Walken was great as always.

Rating of
4/4

Freddie - wrote on 07/13/2010

What a great movie. I was a little concerned in the beginning that I was going to be bored and fall asleep about 10 minutes in. So false. I believe this was written by Tarantino, and this is definitely one of my Tarantino favorites. What a well cast movie. Everything was great from the acting, the action scene..and in the spirit of Quentin--the dialogue. The absolute worst part of the film was that Gary Oldman and Christopher Walken weren't in it long enough. They were both SO RIDICULOUS--especially Oldman, phenomenal. Definitely a must see. I wish I hadn't taken so many years to get on this bandwagon.

Rating of
4/4

AttackoftheSequel - wrote on 06/15/2010

Great movie. It was better than I thought it was going to be. Arquette and Slater were both great. They worked well together. The trailer that I watched did not give it justice, as can happen sometimes. Love the theme song.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?