Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Indyfreak - wrote on 07/23/2014

Jar Jar Binks. And yet fifteen years later (no wait is it sixteen?) I still enjoy watching this movie. Some call Revenge of the Sith the best of the prequels and while I liked that one too, this is it for me. Why? Nostalgia and forgiveness I guess. Sorry if I'm not making a lick of sense. I've been brooding again. I'll edit this when I'm sane again.

Rating of
1/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 01/29/2014

Can 3-D movies get any worse I think it can. star was episode 1. Follows young Anakin Skywalker through his adventures and how he meets Obi Wan and Padm?. It is the start of the clone wars. okay I was not a fan of the stars wars movie but it's a lot of fun but this movie is a mess. the acting is awful the story did not make any sense at all.

Rating of
2.5/4

Moviehead - wrote on 04/01/2012

It is disappointment compared to old star wars, but compared to other adventure and sf films it is fun, much more fun than average adventure film

Rating of
3/4

Nolane - wrote on 02/13/2012

Saw the 3D version. The 3D conversion is very well done and it adds to the pod racing scene and the big battles at the end. As for the movie itself, its the weakest of all six Star Wars film, mainly do to the awful Jar Jar Binks, some slow sections and some wooden acting- except for Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor who are both terrific. Ends up three stars in my book mainly due to the excellent light saber fight at the end. Lucas wisely almost entirely cut out Jar Jar Binks in Episodes II and III.

Rating of
1.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/29/2011

The return to the galaxy far, far away is a mixed bag. There is enough of that previous Star Wars charm in here amidst the CG fest.

Rating of
1.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/10/2011

Oversaturates the Star Wars universe with pointless digital effects and not one, but two annoying characters - the infamous Jar Jar Binks and a pretentious young Anakin Skywalker.

Rating of
1/4

BmovieJosh - wrote on 10/09/2009

The main problem I had with this film was Darth Maul... It thought he was lame and was nothing like the other sith lords. I hated this film.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 08/06/2009

I know that not many people liked this movie, but I liked it. I liked the race scene in particular.

Rating of
0.5/4

Allison - wrote on 12/21/2007

Jar-Jar Binks was bad. George Lucas ruined what he had. Anakin before he became a dad.

Rating of
2/4

GGauthier - wrote on 09/10/2007

The first episode of the greatest, most popular saga ever left me at the end, somewhat empty. I recognize (am I guilty?) having seen it 3 times at the theatre... but, the thing is that the time passed and I see a very weak SW movie... with weak characters... and, ultimately, a movie with the lack of that mystic that the olders had. Not a crap, but almost.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?