Rocky IV Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 02/10/2014

"I must break you". Rocky Challenges the Soviet who killed his Friend Apollo Creed even though he appears out matched by a cheater. This movie is just a epic 80's movie with a speechless villain and a loud mouth talking hero.

Rating of
1.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 10/07/2012

Utterly formulaic and unbelievably dim flag-waver which is the epitome of the kind of Reagan era Russkie hating that permeated the 1980s. This is Rocky with every last vestige of subtlety and intelligence removed, although I admit it does have some kitsch entertainment value.

Rating of
1.5/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 02/21/2012

A robot, an exhibition match turns ugly, bashing of countries and a super athlete in a Rocky picture, not sure what their aim was. It’s baffling how one needs to fight somebody by risking your life. The MTV like video of various clips with Apollo and Rocky was dull and was definitely a filler to make the movie longer. Dialogue was horrendous and the soundtrack still felt dated. A memorable quote from the picture: Rocky - “We’re changing.” Only thing worth seeing here is the cinematography and unique training of Rocky in Russia. Rocky IV felt like a documentary and music video promoting change and unity.

Rating of
2.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 01/23/2012

This 'patriotic' Rocky film carries over the fun from the third one and piles on some cheese. I don't mind this, however, because I enjoyed it all the same. Dolph Lundgren is easily my favorite adversary in the whole series.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/18/2011

There isn't much that differs from the Rocky formula in this film, but, being a Rocky film, it kind of works. Dolph Lundgren is a fearsome and unique villain and the brutal boxing climax is still triumphant. It's the middle portion of the film that feels a little tired and less original.

Rating of
2.5/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 01/12/2011

Rocky IV is not really a good film. It is a far cry from the original Rocky in about every way. It has some very bizarre moments like the robot for example, why was that in the movie exactly. The film really just sets up another challenge for Rocky with the Soviet Union contender played with a evil stare by Dolph Lundgren and poorly spoken for by Brigitte Nielsen. The film really is not good, but its montages still work well, and so does the final fight. It is not a good film in terms of really the story, and dialogue, but Stallone knows how to make a rousing montage and fight, and does it again making the film somewhat entertaining.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 10/27/2010

I feel very patriotic watching this film... that and filled with 80s rock music, lots and lots of it. Still, a worthy addition to the series and probably the best after the original.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 01/08/2010

If you look past the nationalistic messages in this movie, it's not a bad flick.

Rating of
3/4

Ghost Seed - wrote on 08/01/2008

The most music-fueled montage-filled Rocky of them all.

Rating of
3/4

Alex - wrote on 07/02/2007

The second best Rocky film with Lundgreen doing a superb job of roiding up and kicking some ass. The 80's music is terribly dated (for people younger than me, though I enjoy it), but the boxing scenes are the best of the series. Good.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?