Midnight Cowboy Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/28/2019

The first X-rated movie to win Best Picture, "Midnight Cowboy" delivers just what you would expect (as far as the late-60s are concerned.)

Rating of
4/4

SteelCity99 - wrote on 04/22/2018

John Schlesinger creates the perfect, almost flawless counterpart of Hopper's Easy Rider (1969), promoting cinema's iconoclasm and creating a financially successful, haunting and utterly unique masterpiece. The sexual revolution collides with the hippies' era and the Voight-Hoffman duo collides in a breathtaking cataclysm of unfulfilled dreams and a realm where fantasy, hallucinations and reality mend together. Stereotypes are smashed and banal attitudes are raped and destroyed, intellectually speaking. 97/100

Rating of
2/4

Gabe - wrote on 01/19/2015

I'm going to keep this short and sweet...I hope. I did not really care for this film. Quite frankly I don't know why it won Best Picture at the Oscars and I don't know why it's considered as great as it is. The acting is great, especially Hoffman. I'm not a huge Jon Voight fan, but he was good. Maybe if I lived in New York, I would "get it." Maybe if I was alive in '69 or had read the book, I would "get it." But since neither of those things have happened, I don't get it! Was this a thing? Did people really move to New York to be gigolos? And, this was pre-AIDS, but Ratso sure acted like he was dying of it. I just don't get it, my rating would've been lower had the acting not been top-notch.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/09/2013

'Midnight Cowboy' is the story of one Texan man's ambition to become a male prostitute in New York City. Things can't go anywhere but down, when that is your starting goal. This is a bleak film with no redemption. I liked it for that reason. The first half represents this well. The events in the second half progressively worsen for the two main characters. I lost interest through this area till the the finale that contained no resolution. If the second half had continued as well as the first, I may have given this four stars.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 09/18/2013

A gritty, unrelenting look at life in New York City (a character just as important as Dustin Hoffman and Jon Voight in the context of the film). It will leave you a bit depressed but it will also leave a remarkable impact. Worthy of its Oscar win.

Rating of
3/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 05/25/2012

This film is and incredibly powerful and difficult experience. Voight and Hoffman are superb but its so unrelentingly depressing it can hardly be called an "enjoyable" experience! A film everyone must see, if only once.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 11/01/2011

This is a gritty and fascinating story of survival, set in the urban busyness of New York City. Jon Voight and Dustin Hoffman vanish into their roles, creating two memorable characters who find an odd friendship, despite being nearly polar opposites.

Rating of
3/4

Amyaronson - wrote on 07/18/2011

A farm boy (Voight) moves to New York to be a male escort and meets up with a small-time hustler (Hoffman). They become the bestest of friends. Life is rough, they are poor, things are gritty. There's a fun song that plays through the whole thing that WILL get stuck in your head for a very long time. It's SAD. Jon Voight looks like Shiloh Nouvel Jolie-Pitt. Dustin Hoffman is grimy as. Pretty good.

Rating of
2/4

sapien - wrote on 08/10/2009

Almost a good movie..., almost.

Rating of
3.5/4

Allison - wrote on 12/22/2007

I was wary of this movie, because of the rating and subject matter, but the Academy picked a great Best Picture for this year. At least they used to. There is a quick shot of Jon Voight in the shower completely nude (which I'm sure scarred Angelina Jolie for life) but other than that, it's a masterpiece. And he couldn't have done so well without supporting help from Dustin Hoffman. Hopefully and heartbreaking, it's a movie that gets you in its grip and never once lets up.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?