Lawrence of Arabia Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/28/2019

It's setting, acting, direction, and just about everything else is perfect, "Lawrence of Arabia" is a masterpiece epic.

Rating of
3/4

Gabe - wrote on 02/25/2014

An epic of grand proportions. I've had this film on my DVR for 3 2 years and had yet to watch it. Mainly because of the daunting length, but I finally did, and it was magnificent. They just don't make them like they used to. According to Robert Osborne, of TCM fame, this was O'Toole's first big film role, as well as Sharif's. O'Toole was actually the third choice to play Lawrence. This is a wonderful film, that is worth the almost 4 hr. length. And is a must watch for any film buff, though it might not have much re-watchability, it is great.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 01/09/2013

This is one of the last great epics - a film that doesn't do anything small in scope. Peter O'Toole portrays T.E. Lawrence with a balance of courage and compassion and the film doesn't pull its punches with diving deep into the political climate of the times either.

Rating of
3.5/4

Ionut valentin - wrote on 08/07/2012

Great movie, this was! as the olders say. short review, clearly.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 05/05/2012

Here is one of those three plus hour films that does feel long, but it has some grand and entertaining moments that make the experience worthwhile. This is a technical masterwork that still feels like a spectacle after all these years. I'm glad I saw it, but I probably won't watch it again.

Rating of
1/4

Amyaronson - wrote on 07/18/2011

Oh, I tried so hard. First, I tried to like it. After I gave up on that, I tried to stay awake. After I gave up on that, my friend and I took turns sleeping and filling each other in. After we both fell asleep, we decided to read the synopsis online when we were awake enough. I should own Lawrence of Arabia so I can use it when I can't sleep. My mom did that with the golf channel. Peter O'Toole has pretty eyes. Deserts and camels = Expensive movie/critically-acclaimed epic I tried. So very hard.

Rating of
1/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

It was like the director was _trying_ to make a 4 hour movie. Every shot is held 10 seconds too long. I am so perplexed as to why this is a "classic" and #29 on imdb. The most positive thing I can say about this movie is, "Pretty deserts."

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 01/17/2011

This film defines "epic" in every sense of the word. Lord knows if it was remade everything would be CGI and Greenscreen - but to actually see that many real people, and animals, in the desert - spectacular. Peter O'Toole, Omar Sharif, Anthony Quinn, Alec Guinness - couldn't have been better. Make the time to really watch this one, it's worth it.

Rating of
3/4

gideon43 - wrote on 06/04/2010

Incredibly handsome and sweeping production of the life of T.E Lawrence, a British Military Officer involved in the Arab Revolt in 1916-18. A movie that has defined the word "Epic" and which continues to influence filmmakers nearly half a century on. Although stunningly shot with almost serene cinematography, the film still hinges on an amazing and assured performance from Peter O Toole. A grandiose and mesmerising achievement that is at home in the monumental battle scenes as it is in examining a historical legend and his many personal conflicts.

Rating of
2/4

sapien - wrote on 04/01/2010

It really isn't nearly as good as people say it is. But, I'm sure that, for its time, it was great.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?