Labyrinth Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/30/2019

Imaginative. David Bowie is freakishly charismatic as the Goblin King.

Rating of
1.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 10/06/2012

Another of those 80s films that enjoy a huge cult following which I thought was really rather poor. There are some inventive visuals, but there's little else to commend it. The Dark Crystal was better, but it's a damn sight better than The Never-ending Story.

Rating of
2.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 04/07/2012

This is a greatly imaginative fantasy flick, filled with weird characters and a sense of wonder. Though, there isn't much of a story and the songs are forgettable and forced. Still, it's worth the fun moments and imagery.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/27/2011

It doesn't quite have the level of fantasy magic as some of the other Henson era films, but there's a lot of fascinating creature work here and some memorable characters. David Bowie is a standout as the otherworldly goblin prince and the Bowie-esque soundtrack is superb.

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 04/06/2010

A beautifully fanciful tale that is as classic as it is a cult favorite. There is little to dislike about this film, other than David Bowie's lackluster performance, but it is made up for by the fact that it is a fantasy/musical/family film. My favorite portions are complete with the dark air that makes Jim Henson's family films better than all the other creators out there.

Rating of
4/4

Ikkinbot - wrote on 03/12/2009

A classic fantasy movie that really should be watched by all teenage girls, that is not to say teenage boys wouldn't like it. I still love it even now that I'm out of my teens and though I've seen it a million times. A movie about being careful what you wish for as you just might get it. A fun fantasy movie that has some how stood the test of time even with the new computer animated age of special effects. It may have something to do with Jim Hensen's wonderful muppets.

Rating of
2.5/4

Allison - wrote on 08/01/2008

I finally saw this for the first time. Despite not being fond of Connelly or Bowie it was still entertaining.

Rating of
3/4

Gabe - wrote on 01/22/2008

A great fantasy movie from the late, great Jim Henson. David Bowie is perfect as Jareth the Goblin King and Jennifer Connely is enchanting and sometimes annoying as Sarah. Of course, what drives the movie is the special effects of Jim Henson. Update on 3-2-16 this film has not aged as well as I remember. It's still good, and the Escher ending is still breathtaking, but this is definitely more fantastical when you're younger.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 07/12/2007

It may not be quite as enchanting now, but I still think Labyrinth has all the right ingredients for a fantasy adventure. Combining some imaginative Jim Henson creations and a good story, this is a good film for all ages.

Rating of
2.5/4

Josh C - wrote on 03/04/2007

Classic Jim Henson, but still not my cup of tea. Interesting enough and I like it when I was a child, but watching recently wasn't a great experience.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?