Gangs of New York Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/30/2019

A most resonating film, "Gangs of New York" lays a revenge story against a period drama with relevant modern themes.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 02/28/2014

The movie takes place in Nineteenth century Manhattan where immigrants fight for control over the five-points neighborhood. This movie has a strong taste of history mix with killing and wining. the acting is brilliant and the directing is great as always.

Rating of
3/4

Carl - wrote on 06/18/2013

Gangs of New York is a movie of astonishing imagination, ambition, and scope. It disappointing that it started out brillant and features a career-topping performance from Daniel Day-lewis only to descend in quailty with a flawed ending.

Rating of
1.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 09/19/2012

One of the great directors tackling a rarely discussed period of American history, and all we get is little more than a cheesy pantomime complete with silly hats. A great disappointment.

Rating of
2.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 05/16/2012

Scorsese does best with gritty crime drama and the elements of seediness and dark human nature that exist here are the film's highlights. When the film tries to take on social and historical issues, the film gets a little muddy (think Age of Innocence) and that takes away from the visual and thematic power of the film. Daniel Day-Lewis, it should be said, is, as always, masterful in creating a scary and unique villain.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/14/2011

Like most of Scorsese's films, there is great direction and acting present. The story is good, but it felt overlong after the halfway point and the finale was swift and not completely satisfying. The violence is shot in an effectively unflinching manner.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/12/2011

Dark and ugly. Well acted. Dark and ugly.

Rating of
3/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 09/20/2011

A nice period film with tremendous performances from Daniel Day-Lewis and Leonardo DiCaprio. Awesome cinematography, directing, script and score. I was surprised how Cameron Diaz did well on the film. I guess Scorsese enjoys doing period films (The Age of Innocence and Shutter Island as prime examples). If your in the mood to watch a movie from the past with solid acting and direction, this is for you.

Rating of
3.5/4

The Film Rebel - wrote on 08/23/2010

Incredibly good. Slightly flawed. A visually impressive period piece. Good performances and Scorsese's direction is what holds the film together. A modern epic.

Rating of
4/4

Patrik - wrote on 07/25/2010

Nominated for 10 academy awards and no win, a shame. I think this movie is underrated and the only really bad thing about it is the music in the first battlescene. But the rest of the music is great and I like the songs that the poor people are singing on the street. They've succeed with the environment and it feels a lot like the 19th centrury. The acting performance is very good, especially the one from Daniel Day-Lewis. When first saw this movie 2 years ago I was really fascinated and I still am.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?