Corpse Bride Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 08/06/2019

Not the most enjoyable entry into Tim Burton's filmography, but the visionary director's grim yet beautiful imagination appeals to film's fairy tale-like charm.

Rating of
2.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 06/22/2014

A sweet story, with the right touch of sad. The music (piano segments in particular) add to the atmosphere. Visuals are good, animation and voice acting are decent, and the underplayed humor is clever. Some parts were enjoyable, others were just 'so-so'.

Rating of
3.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 03/09/2014

The film is about a nervous groom flubs his arranged marriage and finds himself in the forest where he practices his vows only to end up with a corpse bride in the land of the dead. This movie has a dark look to it and it works for this kind of film because the movie is about being married to a dead person.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 06/29/2012

Although this is a lesser known Burton film, it holds the same charm and simplistic integrity of the director's earlier works, such as Frankenweenie or the short film, Vincent. The film's stop motion is charming and hauntingly beautiful and the film tells a fractured fairytale that comes with great touches of dark comedy.

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 04/19/2010

What can I say? I love Tim Burton. I loved the return of stop-motion animation that made him famous with "The Nightmare Before Christmas," as well as teaming with his friends to create a truly beautiful family comedy. Utilizing a still camera to create the film, "Corpse Bride" was innovative in its execution as well as in its artisanship. A great addition to any film collection.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 08/11/2009

Although I didn't like this as much as Nightmare Before Christmas, this is still an excellent stop-motion masterpiece from Tim Burton. It looks like it would be a dark film, but is surprisingly light given the subject matter. Very likable.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 01/31/2009

I enjoyed it. But, it just wasn't as good as I thought it'd be.

Rating of
2.5/4

Hidde - wrote on 06/17/2008

Dark and creative story. The ending was good too.

Rating of
1.5/4

fake_username - wrote on 03/01/2008

Another Tim Burton tale that isn't as original as it seems and tries to be somewhat dark but ends up being unintentionally rediculous. I'd recommend Nightmare Before Christmas over this movie.

Rating of
3.5/4

Allison - wrote on 11/16/2007

Excellent. Unfortunately, I am not a fan of The Nightmare Before Christmas. I had heard how inferior The Corpse Bride was supposed to be, but yet I tried it anyway. I loved it much better. I felt like the Corpse Bride so yeah, affinity, blah blah blah. I liked it and am not sure I'd recommend it , because of the negative reaction to the film. But I like it in my own way. :)

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?