Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/10/2019

The vision and story match with Dahl's book. However, Johnny Depp's Wonka couldn't be more out of place.

Rating of
1/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 03/08/2014

Willy Wonka, owner of a spectacular of a creppy chocolate factory, opens his doors to five lucky children who find a golden ticket. Charlie Bucket comes from a poor but loving family, and enters the factory along with four rotten children and their even worse parents. This has to be the worst reamke that I've even seen because the movie is way to weird and groofy.

Rating of
4/4

Ikkinbot - wrote on 02/27/2013

To me, a great lover of the books, this was way better than the original. Dahl's books are dark and quirky like this movie! Johnny Depp hits just the right tone of awkward creepy friendliness. It also looks fantastic.

Rating of
3/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 09/14/2012

I'm clearly in the minority but I preferred this reinvention by one of the most inventive directors around. Johnny Depp is at his best playing this kind of playfully off-beat character and it revives the socialist allegory that was missing from the original version.

Rating of
1.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 06/04/2012

Although there are the typical weird Tim Burton visuals, this remake sucks all the life and magic out of the original tale, in an effort to put Burton's signature stamp on the film. Probably shouldn't be compared to the first film, since its source material is a book, but the comparison is unavoidable and it falls far short of the 1971 classic.

Rating of
2/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/15/2011

Was Johnny Depp more creepy than Gene Wilder? Hard call. A movie that must have special effects. Did they all learn lessons?

Rating of
0.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/23/2011

Ive never liked either version

Rating of
3/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

I was prepared for a big let-down, but it is mesmerizing and warm. Depp's Wonka is inspired bizarreness. And dancing with the Oompah Loompahs is a pretty sweet bonus feature

Rating of
1.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 06/27/2010

I liked that this wasn't a straight up remake, but instead a somewhat close adaptation of the book. The liking stops there, though. The movie is crazy, but not completely entertaining and Depp's Willy Wonka is off putting and not fun to watch. This movie's chocolate factory is not one that I'd want to visit.

Rating of
2.5/4

sapien - wrote on 08/29/2009

This was a bit overdone, but still a decent movie.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?