Brokeback Mountain Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/25/2019

A calm heartbreaker perfectly set against its landscape & time period. "Brokeback Mountain" bravely stands out as love story for its subject matter.

Rating of
3.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 07/30/2014

The story is about two broke farm hands get a job herding sheep in Montana during the 70's. They uncover their secret love for each other on Brokeback Mountain then later marrying women as they plan yearly secret trips to rekindle their relationship. The acting and the directing is freaking fantastic, and the story is well told in this movie.

Rating of
3/4

Rod - wrote on 05/11/2014

I didn't expect that this would be a very good film. Heath Ledger nailed it! Also Jake Gyllenhaal and Michelle Williams did great. Drama was really felt, however I think the writer had a hard time finishing the story.

Rating of
3.5/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

Excellent film. One of those films that I'll admit I wanted to hate, because of the controversial topic, but I can't, because it is great. Everything about it is wonderful; the story, characters, the acting, the music, the direction. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Excellent performances from Ledger, Gyllenhaal, Williams, and Hathaway. Nominated for 8 Academy Awards including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, and Best Supporting Actor, this is a must see.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/15/2012

It was widely publicized as the "gay cowboy" movie, but Brokeback Mountain succeeds because it is, above all, a story of love and loss that would ring true, regardless of the sexual orientation of its characters. Ledger and Gylenhaal give brave performances and the film is populated with a host of strong supporting characters, as well.

Rating of
3/4

Freddie - wrote on 10/16/2010

While this movie tended to be a little boring at times, Gyllenhaal and Ledger both put on brilliant performances. They play cowboys who are both in heterosexual relationships but fall in love with each other while herding sheep out in the mountains. Once you get past the first 20 minutes or 30 minutes the love story actually starts to pick up and the movie becomes much more interesting. However, the story is not interesting just because they are homosexual, but because it is a story of forbidden love which comes with its own special set of problems.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 08/14/2008

Heartbreaking tale of the secret desires and passions never being fully embraced by two men. Twenty years of an on-the-side relationship effects their 'normal' family lives they've failed to establish. That longing for their happiness is felt from the beginning to the end of the film. Great actors, great writing, great direction.

Rating of
0.5/4

Allison - wrote on 01/26/2008

I like Ang Lee but ultimately it didn't do much for me. I think the first 15 minutes is without dialog and it's completely unnecessary. Eh..?

Rating of
4/4

Taz - wrote on 07/30/2007

This movie might be one of the best love stories I have seen ever. I am a sucker for sappy love stories but this movie blew me away. From story to acting to directing to cinematography there was no flaw in this movie. All of the actors in this movie were great. Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal play the part of lovers that can;t be in love perfectly but in my option Michelle Williams stole the show with acting. Her portrayal of heath ledgers wife is perfect. And then the scenery in this movie is just beautiful, you could take almost and frame of this movie and make it in to a post card. A lot of people will have trouble seeing this movie because of the gay aspect of it but if you can get past that this is a great movie.

Rating of
1/4

Alex - wrote on 04/27/2007

Don't let anyone fool you, this is not a good movie. I do think it was good that it was made, to show people that real people, no matter what their orientation, can love. Ledger puts on a better performance, but in the end it was not good

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?