Boogie Nights Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/16/2019

"Boogie Nights" is a conventional cycle of stardom story told against the backdrop of an unlikely industry. It also flaunts a talented cast and stand out direction from Paul Thomas Anderson.

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 01/28/2014

The story is about a young man has a gift, his gift gets him praises. He uses his gift to get into the porn industry in the 70's. This is the story of him and his gift. When I finished watching this movie I didn't know what to think of it. but for a while I came with the words to say about this movie and that it amazing. this movie has a big cast and all of the actors did a outstanding Job in they roles.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 02/15/2012

Although this isn't my favorite PT Anderson film, or his deepest thematically, it's still an interesting portrayal of the hedonistic 70's. The era is recreated in detail and, although some of the content is somewhat dark and uncomfortable, there are some illuminating performances, particularly from Anderson staple John C. Reilly.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/14/2011

A stylish piece that easily juggles multiple characters with a respectable treatment of the subject matter. It becomes increasingly dramatic, while still providing subtle black humor throughout

Rating of
4/4

Lulu1220 - wrote on 01/29/2009

This is another movie I can watch over and over again. It has a great cast and many wonderful scenes. My two favorite scenes are - When Dirk (Mark Wahlberg), Reed and Todd are in the drug dealer's house - There are firecrackers going off, Alfred Molina being crazy and some serious 80's music going on in the background. It was a drug deal that went bad, but funny as hell. My other favorite scene is when Dirk is recording a song in the studio and he just sings awful..so awful it is funny. And you must see the last scene to see how "gifted" Dirk really is.

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 09/26/2008

"Boogie Nights" was fantastic! Anyone who can't see through the content of the movie into the very parallels of everyday life is droll. Mark Whalberg is amazing playing someone who can't act in, let's say it, the porn industry. I was incredibly impressed with Burt Reynolds who was nominated for an Academy Award for this film. Each performer brings something new and amazing to this darkly rich biopic tale of the fictitious Dirk Diggler!

Rating of
2/4

Allison - wrote on 12/21/2007

There Will Be Boogie...It's an ok film. It has its moments but is not thoroughly enjoyable.

Rating of
3/4

Gabe - wrote on 12/03/2007

A phenomanal look at the 70's and early 80's porn industry. Very tastefully done. It's a very dark film that doesn't let up until the final scene.

Rating of
3.5/4

philly22 - wrote on 09/20/2007

You got the touch!!! You got the power...!!!!! YEAH!

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 07/31/2007

For a film based around the 1970s porn industry, this does a great job of character development - and takes some pretty emotionally dark turns. Mark Wahlberg has never been better, and the supporting cast is amazing. Overall great film.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?