The Blair Witch Project Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/03/2019

Hard to believe this movie was a hit back in the 90s. "The Blair Witch Project" has gone from revolutionary horror cult hit to dated and below average found footage relic.

Rating of
2/4

Snoogans - wrote on 08/26/2016

This is by no means great material, but it does what the vast majority of imitators failed to deliver in it's wake; it feels 100% close to reality. When I look at this film, all I see is some young people playing movie director and having the worst time. The urban legend basis for their film project gives a solid setup to the whole proceedings and offers a very understated uneasy tone. I was interested all the way to the end, despite the lack of scares. The ending delivers the one true scare, leaving us with an abrupt send off that lingers after viewing. An interesting experiment that pays off to a mild point.

Rating of
1.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 02/22/2014

Three young stupid filmmakers set out to investigate the legend of the Blair Witch in the town of Burkittsville, Maryland. This movie is really slow and not scary at all. the movie is better then other bad found footage films at they but this movie is still bad.

Rating of
1/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/07/2012

This movie was important for the "found-footage" genre, but was very weak and not scary at all. I still have no idea what I watched and found it to be shallow and quite stupid. I am jealous that these people made as much money as they did on this film. I wish I could spend $300 bucks for a camera, make a terrible movie and get back Millions. It isn't a must-see movie, but it is historical because it really opened the door for the genre.

Rating of
0.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 10/29/2012

A real victory of hype over quality. The acting is poor, there is little suspense (I'm sorry, but what exactly is scary about piles of twigs) and it's basically a straight rip off of the earlier and better The Last Broadcast.

Rating of
4/4

Kyle(The Rebel) - wrote on 08/28/2012

This movie seems so real, and that's why it's so damned terrifying. Outstanding acting, direction and eerie scenery combine to make this a top knotch chiller!

Rating of
0.5/4

talwahfrench - wrote on 12/12/2011

I admit that I only made it through the first hour of the movie because my head was hurting so much for the shaking camera and screaming from the terrible characters. I wanted to strangle all three college kids and ask them why the hell they were standing around bickering the entire time if they really wanted to get out of the woods. Maybe the second half o the movie is better, but I don't see how anyone could make it to the second half. I don't understand how this became a classic.

Rating of
4/4

Jenna - wrote on 08/10/2011

This film is an exceptional, timeless classic. Unlike Paranormal Activity, the theme of documentation is superb and 100% believable. I wouldn't call it scary, but maybe a bit chilling in it's brilliant morbidity. This movie is fascinating from start to finish, never a dull moment. It gets a bad rap sometimes, but I believe the reason behind that is the disappointment we all felt in about 1998 when we discovered this film was 100% fabricated. However, I can't be swayed, a spectacular film is a spectacular film.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/07/2010

There's a little too much whining and bickering in this horror classic (maybe a little too realistic?), but once it gets going, the second half never lets up and the last five minutes or so are purely terrifying. Undeniably one of the best of the "found footage" genre, and made before the concept became played out.

Rating of
2.5/4

sapien - wrote on 02/12/2010

I know that everyone hates this movie. But, tell the truth now, when it first came out, you loved it and you know it!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?