Annie Hall Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/28/2019

Woody Allen's masterpiece does not have a single dull moment. You could watch it again and again, and still find yourself laughing.

Rating of
4/4

SteelCity99 - wrote on 04/21/2018

Autobiographical, witty, absolutely clever and sexually analytical: No one could top Woody in his best decade. Annie Hall is, quite possibly, the best sample of his genius, while we witness simple reality collide with internal monologues of inevitable truths and a never-ending chain of psychological thoughts, aspects worthy of a renowned novelist! Woody and Diane: The "un"couple of cinematic romance. 97/100

Rating of
3.5/4

Camper - wrote on 02/03/2015

Movies like this are copied all the time but I don't think they've ever captured the feeling the way Woody Allen did. God, it's just entertaining- I mean, the way it's put together. Some of the scenes could have easily been overdone, some of the jokes overplayed, but that didn't happen here. It was so perfectly imperfect but not in an annoying "look how quirky I am!" way and it was realistically awkward but not to the point where it got too uncomfortable to watch. I really loved it.

Rating of
4/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

So many great films came out during the 1970s, and Annie Hall is one of them. The screenplay is absolutely amazing. The two lead performances are terrific; Diane Keaton is charming and Woody Allen is perfectly irritating and cynical. The chemistry between the two really elevates the emotional resonance of the film. Charming, hilarious, quirky, and unique, Annie Hall cannot be missed. Winner of 4 Academy Awards including Best Picture.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 03/17/2013

Woody's brand of humor is at it's best here. The story and characters feel like they were organically inspired by the filmmaker's real life situations/relationships. There exists great sincerity in this collage of ideas and jokes. An enjoyable, if not slightly sporadic, examination of relationships from one man's perspective.

Rating of
2.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 11/04/2012

I've never bought into the whole Allen as genius ethos but it's well observed, intelligent and witty. I wouldn't call it a masterpiece, though.

Rating of
2.5/4

Moviehead - wrote on 03/28/2012

Few jokes i really liked, rest is ok but nothing special

Rating of
1/4

Nolane - wrote on 01/30/2012

A monsterously overrated unfunny bag of garbage. Woody Allen is easily the most boring film director of all time. The fact that this movie beat "Star Wars: A New Hope" for Best Picture shows you how elitest and out of touch the Academy is. The fact that they continue to bestow awards upon this unfunny knucklehead, even though he thumbs his nose at them by not even showing up to pick up his awards, shows you that they are still completely out of touch. If "Annie Hall" was made by any other filmaker it would have been dismissed as a failed, minor league romantic comedy. In the hands of Woody Allen it is considered a masterpiece. Go figure.

Rating of
3.5/4

MaceeRae - wrote on 12/15/2011

La di dah, la di dah, I loved it.

Rating of
4/4

Krista Skene - wrote on 09/26/2011

A great Woody Allen film featuring my favourite actress, Diane Keaton. Excellent movie that can be watched over and over again!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?