Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/25/2019

Goofing on the musical biographical dramas of the 2000s decade, "Walk Hard" is rough in patches, but mostly likable and very funny.

Rating of
4/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/22/2011

Man this movie was FUNNY!!!!!

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/04/2011

Playful satire on the whole music biopic genre that mostly works, due to the entire commitment and skillful improvisation of its cast. Particularly hilarious are the extended sequence of Beatles cameos and the pitch-perfect way the film lampoons the requisite scenes of every music biography.

Rating of
2.5/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 08/05/2009

"Walk Hard" is one of those movies that one can sit back and watch without having to think too much, but it is purely entertainment. The comedic timing is brilliant and the acting by John C Reilly is fantastic, as well as hysterical. The best thing about this movie is the writing, where it doesn't presume on itself, but rather just tries to make you laugh.

Rating of
2/4

Allison - wrote on 07/04/2009

Dewey Cox is one part Bob Dylan, two parts Johnny Cash. While the film is very funny, it also drones on. We've seen Walk the Line. We know about Dylan. La di da. Of course, it gets tired after awhile. Why not watch a movie about the real people? Overall, the film only partially exceeds. All the dirty jokes make for lots of eye-rolls and not true humor.

Rating of
2.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 11/16/2008

Worth to watch simply for The Beatles scene alone - Walk Hard is a spoof of all those music biopics that works pretty well, though not as well as I thought it would. Still, it manages to capture each musical period especially well.

Rating of
2.5/4

goodfellamike - wrote on 09/12/2008

A feebly-assembled comedy that is so over-the-top and in-your-face, it has to spell out every joke as if to say "it knows it's a low-brow comedy, but it's still smarter than the dumb audience that's watching it"; Reilly is perfect, and Meadows has some truly funny moments, but it's too much for no reason, especially the sequence with The Beatles. Final Grade: C+

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 07/09/2008

One of the best spoof movies of the decade. Hilarious from beginning to end. The music will be stuck in your head for days.

Rating of
1.5/4

frenchfreyteetor - wrote on 07/05/2008

Another movie that seemed to be a train wreck. A train wreck that I continued to watch until the end. If you haven't seen Walk the Line or Ray, you will be totaly lost. See thoes first or don't bother watching the movie. Well maybe don't bother watching the movie at all :)

Rating of
2.5/4

SarahG0327 - wrote on 12/22/2007

This movie was exactly what I expected it to be... an overly exagerated mindless comedy that kept me laughing the entire way through. It's a nice break from the holiday stress and I absolutely recomend it.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?