Paths of Glory Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/25/2019

Some war films are thought-provoking. Others are tearjerking. "Paths of Glory" is amongst the greatest war dramas ever made for being both.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 07/05/2014

This movie takes place During World War I, soldiers refuse to fight as it appears certain death. The superior military decides to make an example out of them while one man (Douglas) defends them. Stanley Kubrick the director of such dark and gritty movies and this movie is one of them. The movie has outstanding and the directing is brilliant, But there are some scenes that felt a bit slow in parts.

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 09/03/2012

This is just as brutal and unflinching as Full Metal Jacket, but Kubrick gives this a much more subdued touch - yet one that is no less powerful. A lot rests on the shoulders of Kirk Douglas, and he does an excellent job. It's a story that should be presented every generation.

Rating of
2.5/4

Gabe - wrote on 06/08/2012

This film just wasn't quite what I was expecting. It's more courtroom drama than war film. Kirk Douglas is excellent as the hero, the colonel who has to defend the accused in court, but I was was expecting a war film dammit, more along the lines of Saving Private Ryan. I get the social commentary on war that the film is trying to make, and for that I applaud Kubrick for pulling it off, but I still felt duped. Shame on me for not knowing what And for that this film is getting docked 1/2 of a star. Hannes Staudinger must get some mention here. I thought his camera work was superb.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 04/29/2012

A war film that focuses on the moral issues of cowardice and finding truth in the face of injustice. Those that find Kubrick's films to come off as cold will feel the opposite of this one.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 09/12/2011

A striking and in-your-face portrayal of anti-war propaganda that somehow doesn't feel pushy - mainly due to the strong performance by Kirk Douglas. The story told feels immediate and relevant, even decades later.

Rating of
3.5/4

gideon43 - wrote on 06/04/2010

Although it failed at the Box Office due to its controversial stance on French Military blunders that occurred during the First World War (it was also not shown in France until 1975), Paths of Glory is one of the most powerful and compelling films about the futility of war ever made. Director Stanley Kubrick uses impeccable technique as he carefully structures the story. Quite rightly regarded as his first masterpiece, Paths of Glory isn't quite trademark Kubrick and has more sentimental and inspiring moments than his later efforts. Exploring a theme of anti authoritarianisim that he would revisit in later films, Kubrick with the help of an excellent cast delivers an outstanding and quintessential anti war movie.

Rating of
4/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 03/06/2009

Terrific film about World War I. Actually a anti foolish leaders film than an anti war film as Kubrick himself has said. It is well shot especially the scenes inside the trenches because it puts you right there. It is very interesting to see where it goes, and the characters are all very well written.

Rating of
4/4

GGauthier - wrote on 09/10/2007

In the beginning, Kubrick was a photographer. So, he used always that special gifted eye for making still photos, in motion pictures. This movie contains part of that Kubrick's magic that shows some great takes. The plot is intruiging and the Kirk is fantastic. Agree with Alex on one of the best anti war movies ever.

Rating of
4/4

Alex - wrote on 12/15/2006

This one of the best direct anti war movies I have ever seen. Kubrick is the master with this surprise film. It is short too!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?