The Wizard of Oz Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/06/2019

Bursting with color, recognizable songs, and loads of wonderment, how could someone not like this classic?

Rating of
4/4

SteelCity99 - wrote on 04/21/2018

Fantasy in its purest form. Victor Fleming brought to the screen one of the most brilliant concepts in the genre: to take the audience from a sepia-toned atmosphere to a colorful world just like he took Dorothy Gale out of Kansas. The result is literally magical; we get the classic characteristics of a good, old-fashioned fairy tale, morally thought-provoking lessons, lovable costumes, iconic images (red shoes included), an incredible and varied atrezzo, and unforgettable songs. As a musical and as a fantasy movie, as well as a classic, this is a beloved and unrepeatable treasure. 98/100

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 12/31/2013

If you hate this movie then you have you soul at all. this movie takes you to a yellow brick road with Dorothy and her odd friends.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 02/10/2013

There's an infectious cinematic magic about the Wizard of Oz that covers some of its more obvious faults (fake production value, convenient screenplay.) The energy of the cast carries the film, as does the iconic soundtrack that features one of the most beloved songs of all time. It's impossible not to get caught up in the colorful and inventive adaptation that does admirable justice to Baum's classic book.

Rating of
2.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 09/30/2012

Classic musical full of memorable songs and inventive imagery and a creative use of the newly developed Technicolor. Not really my kind of thing but far superior to the kind of soulless nonsense that passes for children's entertainment these days.

Rating of
3.5/4

MaceeRae - wrote on 12/15/2011

I like this film for what it is, a fantasy filmed in 1939, a time when special effects weren't running amok, but were used to enhance a story being told. Considering that this film was created before I was even born, and a few years after my parents arrived, I'd say they did a good job bringing L. Frank Baum's book to the screen. It allowed me, the viewer to escape for about an hour and a half into the land of Oz, and to sit back and enjoy the journey.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/30/2011

This film will never get old. It's ageless.

Rating of
1.5/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 09/04/2011

The visuals are nice, I'll give it that; but the performances, the music, the screenplay, the set design, and the intolerably awful ending are, to put it somewhat candidly, not. Watching 'The Wizard of Oz' is an experience comparable to that of Chinese water torture; you recognise from the onset that you are entering a tempestuous climate of cliche, but you cannot help but be terrified by the writers' persistent efforts to shove them into your face.

Rating of
2/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/02/2011

I don't want to be too critical of a classic, so I'll just say the effects of this movie must have appeared to viewers in the 30s the way Star Wars appeared in the 70s or the Matrix and Lord of the Rings did a few years ago.

Rating of
4/4

Cake - wrote on 02/09/2011

One of my favorite classics. I think the Wizard of Oz will last forever

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?