What's Eating Gilbert Grape Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/06/2019

With Johnny Depp's overlooking narration, we're given the immediate sense of the family-man caretaker that defines his character. This is also the movie that MADE Leonardo DiCaprio, so we have to be thankful for that.

Rating of
3.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 10/11/2013

Why did DiCaprio not win a Oscar.

Rating of
3/4

LordEddardStark - wrote on 06/28/2013

The film is one of the most underrated movies. A great mix of comedy and drama, with funny characters. In my opinion the best acting of DiCaprio, who plays a mentally handicapped boy.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 01/19/2012

This is a smalltown drama populated by odd characters. DiCapriio displays early acting chops as Depp's mentally handicapped brother and the relationship that they share on-screen is the true heart and most successful element of this film.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/30/2011

Excellent underrated film. The drama is solid and young DiCaprio is so good.

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 01/22/2010

I saw this movie when I was younger, and the after-thoughts still haunt me. Leonardo DiCaprio and Johnny Depp made a wonderful pair in this film about the tragedies of circumstance. A story of the truth of shame and redemption, I would recommend this film to anyone with a heart strong enough to withstand its message.

Rating of
4/4

Alexa - wrote on 03/11/2009

What I am about to say is very daring but I mean it with all of my heart and soul. Leonardo DiCaprio gives one of the best performances in the HISTORY of cinema. He is in a class all by himself. The story is incredible. When the movie started I was captivated. When the movie ended I was still captivated. This movie didn't leave me not one time. It stayed at a good pace and kept me interested. Truely, a movie masterpiece with a performance that is going down as one of the best ever.

Rating of
2.5/4

Tia Maria - wrote on 08/31/2008

This is a better film than I expected. It's about a guy, Gilbert Grape (Johnny Depp), trying to cope with his life. He has a mentally handicapped brother (Leonardo DiCaprio), a mother who won't leave the house and is an outcast because of her obesity, and everyone expects heaps from him. Johnny Depp was great - as always, but Leonardo DiCaprio was awesome, as the mentally handicapped brother.

Rating of
3/4

Allison - wrote on 08/08/2008

An interesting movie that was better than expected. It was great to see Leonardo playing a less than glamorous character. Supporting performances were very good too. Johnny Depp played a great brother to his family. I was glad to see another great performance by him.

Rating of
3/4

serioussir - wrote on 05/10/2008

A dark comedy, Depp is touching in this film. DiCaprio is stellar as the mentally handicapped brother.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?