The Truman Show Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Ian - wrote on 04/04/2021

Somewhat far fetched but still entertaining, The Truman Show follows the life of a man through adulthood as the star of a complex reality show while keeping the reality of his world secret from him.

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/09/2019

A high concept farce that still holds up, "The Truman Show" remains relevant in our screen obsessed 21st century world.

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 02/17/2014

An insurance salesman discovers that his entire life has been a television show. This movie was heartbreaking and sad.

Rating of
4/4

Ryan Stephen M - wrote on 04/13/2013

I love it. Furthermore, I love the show big brother, and this is close to the territory the show covers. One of my favorites.

Rating of
3.5/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/12/2012

A brilliant idea and a great self-discovery film. Jim Carey was perfect for this role and delivered an excellent performance. If you have ever been to Universal Studios in Orlando, you know that building a fake town isn't a stretch. I really enjoy this movie every time I watch it. As I watch Jim Carey realizing the bubble he lives in, I can understand the bubble we all find ourselves in. A great piece. I would have loved a sequel, where Carey adventures his new world and deals with fame. It would probably butcher this original, but could also be magnificent if done the right way.

Rating of
2/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 09/24/2012

A strong concept but the script makes no attempt to analyse the moral and social implications of the subject matter. A decent but over-rated Carrey vehicle that's nowhere near as clever as it thinks it is. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind is far superior.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 02/20/2012

"The Truman Show" is a creative dissection of views of media and perfection in society. Jim Carrey, while still maintaining comic charm, departs from his goofy persona to give a solid dramatic performance as well. The film is involving in the best possible way.

Rating of
4/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 12/12/2011

'The Truman Show', a quietly unsettling and shockingly vaticinal satire from the creative mind of Andrew Niccol, is wondrously directed by the brilliant Peter Weir and charismatically championed by the terrifically layered lead performance of Jim Carrey as Truman Burbank (a name filled with amusing, even delicious, meaning). It stands as a vindication of the existence of an intermediate sense of artistic innovation in Hollywood.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/29/2011

Unique premise that contains some good comedy and an endearing performance from Carrey.

Rating of
3.5/4

Rod - wrote on 07/15/2011

"The Truman Show" is a comedy-drama movie of an insurance salesman, Truman Burbank (Jim Carrey), whose life is actually on filming and telecasts live on every part of the world. Jim Carrey never disappointed me, that is for sure! This 1998 movie is really ambitious. Amazing concept, without a doubt! Everything seems to be flawless and of the extremest of that time. JUST THAT, I questioned it for some times.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?