Top Gun Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2/4

Ian - wrote on 09/25/2015

I liked Quentin Tarantino's take on this film. Regardless, this is a classic which should be seen by all in order to understand the mindset of society in that era. It also has one of the best theme songs ever recorded.

Rating of
1/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 10/28/2012

Unbelievably lame Hollywood actioner that mixes decent aerial sequences with a dim-witted testosterone soaked soap opera when it's on the ground. Cliched and idiotic.

Rating of
3.5/4

Taz - wrote on 07/15/2012

Our local movie theater played this last night as a late night special at 11:30pm. I have seen the movie plenty of time but I have always suspected that it was one of those movies that was a little more fun on a big screen then it was on my TV at home. Boy was I right, the flight sequences translated to big screen great and the classic sound track sounded great in the theater sound system. Then it still had the fun story and great dialog that you know and love from this classic movie. If you ever get a chance to see this movie on the big screen at any time of day it is worth it.

Rating of
3/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 01/03/2012

LT Pete "Maverick" Mitchell and his Radar Intercept Officer (RIO) LTJG Nick "Goose" Bradshaw fly the F-14A Tomcat aboard USS Enterprise (CVN-65). Its story revolves around Maverick mainly and gets close to Charlotte "Charlie" Blackwood (Kelly McGillis). Had one of the best dog fights on film with a stylish aura such as the shades and soundtrack which catapulted Cruise into stardom. The dialogue may have been due to the times but Top Gun entertains because of themes of friendship, love and bravery.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/27/2011

Top Gun is one of the ultimate 80's movie - a combination of spectacular photography, great action scenes, some slick one-liners, a soundtrack that is better than the movie, and some scene-chewing acting by Cruise and Kilmer. Despite its constant cheesiness, it's difficult to dislike this movie.

Rating of
2/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/29/2011

Cool 80's movie. Maybe too cool for it's own good. The aerial scenes are best.

Rating of
2/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/02/2011

As many times as people have said to me, "What? You haven't seen Top Gun!!?" I was expecting something legendary. Yeah, I just wasn't feeling it. Goose is a pretty cool character, but the rest of the movie...meh.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 09/21/2009

This is probably the first Tom Cruise movie I ever saw. And, it's one of his best.

Rating of
3/4

Gabe - wrote on 06/13/2009

Not quite as good as I remember it. The love story tends to slow the movie down, all I want to see is some dogfights. But, it's still a classic, iconic movie of the 80's, a must see for anyone.

Rating of
3.5/4

serioussir - wrote on 05/08/2008

For the 80s, this was a great flick! Action, romance, drama. Typical Cruise performance but we hadn't seen too much of him in 1986. Kilmer is a good rival and Edwards is a loveable friend.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?