Smokin' Aces Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
1.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 05/05/2014

The story is about a group of unrelated and unknowing bounty hunters and FBI agents try to take down a performer turned rat, they all clash at the same place at the same time, exploding in action, revenge and murder. This movie was a terrible missed step from beginning to end.

Rating of
2.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/07/2011

There's nothing of substance here, in the way of plot or theme. However, the ADD pace of the film and the constant bombardment of colorful characters, violent action scenes, and witty one-liners certainly makes for an entertaining film, if not an especially deep one.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 06/26/2011

Chaos ensues in this frantic action movie, with a great ensemble cast of killers. It's a crazy good time.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 01/14/2010

Who knew that Ben Affleck still makes good movies?

Rating of
1.5/4

goodfellamike - wrote on 09/05/2008

This hyper, in-your-face action comedy is too confusing and it's never as clever as it thinks it is; for all its shortcomings, it tries to make up in violence and carnage and apart from some decent characterizations (Bateman and Keys) and style to spare, it fails and will only appeal to a crowd with A.D.D. Another demerit: Jeremy Piven is awful! Final Grade: D+

Rating of
2/4

Topher - wrote on 01/31/2008

Inferior to other large cast crime flicks like Snatch -- the plot doesn't mesh as well and the characters are too comic booky. Ben Affeck, however, plays his most sincere role.

Rating of
2/4

Franz Patrick - wrote on 12/23/2007

A very bloody action film that seems to meander in search of a heart, literally and figuratively. I didn't hate it like most critics did but I didn't love it either. I simply thought it was okay mainly because the film proved to me that Ryan Reynolds can act. There were two highlights in the film: the elevator shootout with Alicia Keys and Ryan Reynolds and the final act where Reynolds deals with a betrayal. This could've been a better movie if it hadn't taken too long to set things up. If this had been a pure adrenaline rush of a film, I would've liked it a lot more because I wouldn't think they were trying too hard to have some sort of a story. Sometimes an action film is just an action film

Rating of
2.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 11/25/2007

Quite action-packed, but so frantic you won't know what's going on half of the time. Still, there are a lot of interesting characters, though with so many involved no one gets enough screen time. It's fun, but wears you out.

Rating of
2/4

Alex - wrote on 11/11/2007

The movie was so confusing at the beginning I thought I was going to hate it. After watching it all the way through, there were some great characters and some decent action scenes. It could be better the second time, though nothing great.

Rating of
4/4

tim's movie valut - wrote on 09/06/2007

this is the most action packed move, that I've seen in a long time. First off this is the ultimate action movie of all time. It an all star cast including, Ryan Reynolds, Jeremy Piven, Andy Garcia, Ben Affleck, Alicia Keys, and Ray Loitta it centers around a Rat for the mob named Buddy "Aces" Israel (Piven). So the mob finds out he's going to spill the beans. So they heir five different hitmen get the job done i would like everyone to check this movie out

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?