Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Smokin' Aces (2007) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Smokin' Aces (2007) DVD from AmazonBuy Smokin' Aces (2007) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

Matthew Brady 05/05/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

The story is about a group of unrelated and unknowing bounty hunters and FBI agents try to take down a performer turned rat, they all clash at the same place at the same time, exploding in action, revenge and murder. This movie was a terrible missed step from beginning to end.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 07/07/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

There's nothing of substance here, in the way of plot or theme. However, the ADD pace of the film and the constant bombardment of colorful characters, violent action scenes, and witty one-liners certainly makes for an entertaining film, if not an especially deep one.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 06/26/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Chaos ensues in this frantic action movie, with a great ensemble cast of killers. It's a crazy good time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 01/14/2010 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Who knew that Ben Affleck still makes good movies?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

goodfellamike 09/05/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

This hyper, in-your-face action comedy is too confusing and it's never as clever as it thinks it is; for all its shortcomings, it tries to make up in violence and carnage and apart from some decent characterizations (Bateman and Keys) and style to spare, it fails and will only appeal to a crowd with A.D.D. Another demerit: Jeremy Piven is awful! Final Grade: D+

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Topher 01/31/2008 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Inferior to other large cast crime flicks like Snatch -- the plot doesn't mesh as well and the characters are too comic booky. Ben Affeck, however, plays his most sincere role.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Franz Patrick 12/23/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

A very bloody action film that seems to meander in search of a heart, literally and figuratively. I didn't hate it like most critics did but I didn't love it either. I simply thought it was okay mainly because the film proved to me that Ryan Reynolds can act. There were two highlights in the film: the elevator shootout with Alicia Keys and Ryan Reynolds and the final act where Reynolds deals with a betrayal. This could've been a better movie if it hadn't taken too long to set things up. If this had been a pure adrenaline rush of a film, I would've liked it a lot more because I wouldn't think they were trying too hard to have some sort of a story. Sometimes an action film is just an action film

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 11/25/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Quite action-packed, but so frantic you won't know what's going on half of the time. Still, there are a lot of interesting characters, though with so many involved no one gets enough screen time. It's fun, but wears you out.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 11/11/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

The movie was so confusing at the beginning I thought I was going to hate it. After watching it all the way through, there were some great characters and some decent action scenes. It could be better the second time, though nothing great.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

tim's movie valut 09/06/2007 (2 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

this is the most action packed move, that I've seen in a long time. First off this is the ultimate action movie of all time. It an all star cast including, Ryan Reynolds, Jeremy Piven, Andy Garcia, Ben Affleck, Alicia Keys, and Ray Loitta it centers around a Rat for the mob named Buddy "Aces" Israel (Piven). So the mob finds out he's going to spill the beans. So they heir five different hitmen get the job done i would like everyone to check this movie out

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Films of 2015 by Neobowler
Favorites of 2018 by Austin Shagwell
Best films of 1996 by Daniel
Top Movie List by Melanie
Top Movie List by Cinemaniac
Top Action Movies by Rod
My favourites by Miroslav
Zombie/Zombie-like Movies by Stoney McStonerson

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy