Scanners Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 08/23/2019

What it lacks in meaningfulness and convincing acting it makes up for with great practical effects and B-movie appeal. "Scanners" doesn't let low budget get in the way of its cult classic berserk psychics horror story.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 08/28/2014

This movie has a head blowing off and it was awesome. But the movie itself was alright.

Rating of
2/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 06/24/2012

Famous for it's exploding head scene, this film is far more restrained than you would think. It's obviously very low budget, and the effects and performances reflect the fact, but it has some interesting ideas and a fine ending.

Rating of
3/4

Moviehead - wrote on 04/08/2012

Theme is maybe even more interesting than any other Cronenberg film i have seen, but it ended as one of his weakest horrors. But still it is very good horror film, interesting all the time with impressive scenes. It is also well directed, like all his films with dark atmosphere. Biggest problem i guess is writting, not really dialogs, wich were good, but entire story. It could be much more fun and intriguing because theme is really interesting. Good film, not perfect, entertaining, not as much as it could be, but still better than most of sf and horror films.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/22/2011

I didn't find the story very clear cut, but those f/x are awesome and the film is solid. Still an entertaining effort from Cronenberg.

Rating of
3/4

Anhibian - wrote on 01/22/2008

Any film with a poster talking about people exploding bcause of dark, evil mind readers would get me hooked and eager to watch right away. This film is for the type of people who can listen and understand sciency dialouge. More of a 'watch on your own film' but kept me on the edge of my seat nevertheless. I suppose a down bit of this film was the fact that it drags. yes I get the picture that your writhing in pain at all the people entering the room you dont need to continue it for 5 more minuets. Some nice suprises however but the whole film is worth watching for te exploding head at the begining.

Rating of
3.5/4

Allison - wrote on 12/24/2007

I love this film! I love the explosions.

Rating of
3/4

Josh C - wrote on 03/29/2007

You have to love sci-fi to enjoy this movie. I have watched this about 5 times with different friends and most of them like horror but not sci-fi and they didn't care for it. Worth a look, the sequals suck though.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 03/27/2007

Any film with an exploding head automatically gets a good rating from me. Not Cronenberg's best, but Scanners is still a great sci-fi/horror classic - even if the story and acting drag at times.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?