The Last Samurai Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/24/2019

Completely uneducated regarding its history (The Japanese did NOT seek U.S. assistance during the rebellion, and it's very unlikely they ever would've.) "The Last Samurai" is a manufactured white savior redemption picture, and an example of a Hollywood exploitation epic at its worst.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 05/02/2014

One word to say about this movie and that is "Epic".

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 05/19/2012

I could have done without the film forcing some of its more "zen" thematic elements, but the battle sequences (Zwick's strong suite) are energetic and Tom Cruise gives a focused and courageous performance. The real standout is tight-lipped Ken Watanabe who goes toe to toe, acting-wise, with Cruise in every scene.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/20/2011

I liked the presentation of the Samurai and Cruise is better here than I would've thought.

Rating of
3/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 09/01/2011

Tom Cruise as the foreigner in Japan named Nathan Algren who falls for a girl and fights with a cause. There were a few dragging scenes in the middle of the film. I enjoyed the choreography, cinematography, score and acting. If only there was a more engaging script that could lift the spirits of a few dull moments. The costume and set locations were beautiful and all, unfortunately, overall it The Last Samurai was good, nothing memorable but touching.

Rating of
3/4

shutterspeed777 - wrote on 04/24/2009

Once again, a man's life had undergone a total paradigm shift. Captain NATHAN ALGREN (TOM CRUISE) as the disillusioned ex-United States Army Captain, was originally hired to train a group of western-influenced Imperial Japanese Army through the auspices of MEIJI RESTORATION GOVERNMENT. A lot of dark history between ALGREN and LT. BAGLEY (TONY GOLDWYN) which serves as the undertone of these two characters. ALGREN's encounter with KATSUMOTO (KEN WATANABE) opened up a new understanding of the way of Samurai (BUSHIDO) and causes a re-alignment of his allegiance. Very deeply rooted in modern Japanese history.Good classic.

Rating of
4/4

frenchfreyteetor - wrote on 03/08/2008

This was a very powerful movie. There really isn't words you just have to see it. One of Tom Cruise's best roles.

Rating of
3.5/4

GGauthier - wrote on 08/30/2007

I tell you what's going on with this flick. Happends that's Cruise on it. Whom I used to like, but now not too much. So, why so good? Well, because it has a fantastic premise, a really wonderful music and, oh! a great direction. Yes sir. Doesn't reach the rank of masterpiece because it came somewhat late for my taste. Let's say is the Dances with wolves of asia. 15-16 years sooner? Oh boy. We would be speaking about a massive masterfilm.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 08/06/2007

A good turn from Tom Cruise elevates this above a typical war/historic movie. I also appreciate how it treats the samurai way of life - with genuine respect. Rarely do you see honor and tradition look so well on film.

Rating of
3/4

Alex - wrote on 05/24/2007

This movie is just good. Tom Cruise spits out dialog like its the 21st century and some how does not die at the end. Other than that, it does a great job of showing the samurai culture as well as displaying action and drama.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?