Kung Fu Hustle Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Kumara - wrote on 01/26/2013

Amazing move....very funny. It is a must watch for people who want some humour in their kungfu !

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/15/2012

Kung Fu Hustle is a brilliant visual journey - exhilarating and hilarious from start to finish. The film is not only a parody of kung fu and action films, but a powerful and inventive martial arts film in its own right. Every scene is packed with sight gags and visual creativity and the film plays like a live action Looney Tunes cartoon.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/03/2011

It's like live action Looney Tunes with CG, wire fighting kung-fu. Weird and funny.

Rating of
3/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 07/10/2011

Saw this in theaters when it came out. I laughed really hard, felt the cartoon element was too childish and the plot/romantic element was too light. It's cast knew how to bring the funny scenes out. The brand of humor was unique and clever at the same time. Costumes used were well thought of. The style of directing was okay, could have removed the silly parts to make this one of the best action comedy films made.

Rating of
4/4

deadfish90 - wrote on 05/04/2011

Amazing movie!! I couldn't believe how much fun it is to sit through and watch the movie again and again. The mixing of action, comedy, and a little bit of sadness are perfectly juxtaposed. I recommend this movie to anyone who wants a good time. I found this movie in a clearance section of a used DvD store for two dollars... fools! I would have gladly played eight!! All I can finally say about this film is that the world needs more like it. A lighthearted comedy with just cool characters and situations. P.S. The old guy in the film (main villain, the "Demon") can be seen in the Jean Claude Van Damme film, Bloodsport. He plays the buffed out bad guy in that one!

Rating of
1.5/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/02/2011

Watch the immensely funnier Shaolin Soccer instead; this movie was overhyped. They went way over the top on violence, there's too much CGI, and a hero to root for is missing for the majority of the movie.

Rating of
4/4

CJP - wrote on 09/19/2008

Action: 3 / 3 + Comedy: 2 / 2 + Good vs Evil: 1 / 1 + Love/Sex: 0.5 / 1 + Special Effects: 0.5 / 1 + Plot: 1 /1 + Music: 1 / 1 = 9 / 10 or 90%. Kung-Fu Hustle is a rare blend of action and comedy that flow together seamlessly. It is an exception to the rule, like Ghost Busters before it, where big time special effects do not detract from the story.

Rating of
3.5/4

lmlewis517 - wrote on 06/22/2008

I liked Kung Fu Hustle so much that I ran out to get Kung Fu Majhong 1 and 2. I love a good slapstick comedy and this fits the bill as a brilliantly put-together action, comedy, fantasy movie. I bought it for a good friend of mine when he was down in the dumps. Funny movie, great laughs and some other fun scenes! Like the special effects, too.

Rating of
3/4

Josh C - wrote on 08/23/2007

Well done Stephen Chow, Well done. You have managed to make a beautiful kung fu movie with not only great fighting, but humor as well. The outlandish heroes are great and unexpected. I thought this was going to be like Kung Pow, but nay -- It was masterpiece compared to that piece of crap. Still I can only give you 3/4 stars because I am a prick. Keep up the good work. PS. I would love to see a sequel with a midget that shoots projectile fingernails.

Rating of
3.5/4

TheWolf - wrote on 07/27/2007

I loved this movie. Stephen Chow is a brilliant man when it comes to comedy he knows his stuff. The thing that I found to be most unique about this film is the ammount of CGI that was used. Nearly every gag, and every fight scene was loaded with all kinds of CGI, and it was expertly done. Some of the smallest effects used CGI such as the knives that got stuck into Sing's arms and body, they were all CGI, most of the guns were CG, and even a number of the times when the landlord lady (Wah Yuen) was talking the cigarette in her mouth was CGI, and that would become apparent before she would do the "Lions Roar". And amazingly fun movie. Well worth the watch!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?