The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/19/2019

Overwhelmingly silly, "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" resembles a weird mashup of Monty Python and "Doctor Who" that's a whole lot of fun.

Rating of
3/4

Marielle - wrote on 07/09/2013

loved it! but then again i haven't read the book.. and had really low expectations. don't get fooled by some of the low budget costumes and special effects, just follow the story, it's entertaining and different!

Rating of
0.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 09/14/2012

I can only liken this film to having your favourite song being covered by Jedward or watching your first love being raped by a game show host. Except it's really, really BORING. I mean, Mos Def as Ford for f***'s sake?? Watch the BBC TV series instead.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/02/2011

A fun visual trip that presents an off-the-wall brand of wit and humor. Every scene is packed with superb special effects, visual in-jokes, and surprising cameos. Alan Rickman's depressed robot made the whole movie for me.

Rating of
1.5/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/02/2011

They just couldn't capture the ironic humor of the book-the film is disorganized and the performances scatterbrained. But man, I LOVE "So Long and Thanks for all the Fish"! That will stay in your brain for months!

Rating of
1.5/4

theCriticalMarisa - wrote on 04/08/2011

..It's hilarious, dry, entertaining and engaging. In other words, it's everything the movie is not. I fell asleep the first time I tried to watch this movie. Picked up where I left off the next day, and found it hard to get through. I loved the book, one of the few I have literally laughed out loud while reading. I don't think I laughed once during this movie. It took a perfect example of British humor and this is the movie they came up with? Disappointing.

Rating of
N/A

Cake - wrote on 02/09/2011

Haha! what a hilarious movie. I highly recommend this movie. After all, it is kid friendly I believe.

Rating of
2.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 06/15/2010

The film is so tightly packed with jokes and references that it's hard to catch everything the first time viewing. The randomness and whole quirky nature will not appeal to everyone. It felt like one big 'in joke'. The constricted, obviously downsized, narrative doesn't help much in explanation. I didn't always know the reasoning behind everything, but I still managed to have some fun.

Rating of
2/4

comfortablynumb - wrote on 11/22/2009

I have the book but haven't read it yet; I didn't really care for this movie to much aside from Marvin the robot. I found the scenes with Marvin to be down right hysterical.

Rating of
2.5/4

phantom - wrote on 05/05/2009

Just could not get myself past the girl, who ruined the film for me. In the book she like a rocket scientist, who gets bored with earth. In the movie on the other hand she just comes off as a bit of a space hoochie. Unfortunately she's in most of the movie. Had they not had her cast/written that way, this would be one of my favorites, but I just find her to distracting.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?