Happiness Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/17/2019

The second film from director Todd Solondz is a little harder to take in than his debut feature "Welcome to the Dollhouse," but this interwoven ensemble slice-of-life is shockingly sincere.

Rating of
1/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 11/28/2012

A film depending on your taste. Lacks the appropriate character build-up to make the figures likable Despite the flawed individuals in which portrayed well by the artists, the direction and pace for this reviewers taste is different from the rest of the raters. Not a single scenes was funny and the soundtrack was uninviting. Dull, dark, unfunny though well acted. Happiness is a story of three families with certain pleasures with various struggles. With these themes, other films have been more entertaining than this dreary film. It lost this critics interest before it ended, which is a rarity.

Rating of
2.5/4

Moviehead - wrote on 04/01/2012

It was interesting all the time but it didn't became what it could. Not great.

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 02/17/2011

This film was BRILLIANT! What an achievement of experimental story-telling, pressing buttons and pushing envelopes to every degree of discussion, shock, and hilarity. These small vignettes poignantly string together the world's most obscure people who seem to be all around us: the closeted sex maniac who calls women for the thrills, the control-freak whose life is all it should be (or so she would like everyone to believe), the insecure psychiatrist who dreams of having sex with children, and the fat lady who wants love but not the love some men want to give her. These are few of the stories interlacing this bizaare hapless drama, but they are all worth watching and understanding.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/10/2010

This ensemble drama/comedy is rooted deep in the psyche of some truly troubled characters . Writer/director Solondz mixes the multiple stories of these "sick" individuals in a cohesive and uncompromising way. I laughed at times and felt bad at others. There was an uncanny balance to the emotions I felt while watching. It also has one of the funniest and most memorable movie endings that I can recall.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 01/15/2009

This is a movie that will make you squirm, avert your eyes, cringe and at points leave your jaw on the floor. The subject matter can be, well, subject, but the talent involved makes it work, not matter how reprehensible it gets.

Rating of
0.5/4

Allison - wrote on 12/21/2007

I really didn't like it. Then, Todd Solondz is an acquired taste. I thought it had its moments, but really? A waste of time and talent.

Rating of
3/4

pantsparty - wrote on 08/07/2007

I opted to give this movie 3 stars due to the shear amount of times i have watched it. No i am not a sick freak, that loves movies about child molestation and crazy people, but damn if this isn't an amazing movie to show friends and just watch their reactions to the never ending string of atrocities, that for 1 reason or another make you laugh. This movie is not only funny but has the ability to scar friends and loved ones, and that my friends is pure gold. The only bad thing about it is that you feel kinda dirty after it is over for laughing at situations that are supposed to be disgusting and outrageous. Anyway buy this movie if you enjoy making loved ones suffer

Rating of
3/4

Josh C - wrote on 07/11/2007

This is probably one of the most disturbing movies I have ever scene. It has incest, child rape, drugging, killing sprees, compulsive masterbaters, awkward dialog and in the end a dog discovers something gooey. Why did I rate this movie 3 stars you may be asking? Any movie that makes me cringe and feel that uncomfortable watching is a good movie. It takes a lot to make me squirm but to do so without even showing blood and guts takes much more craft. If I wasn't trying to appear moral I would give this movie 4 stars, one for each time I thought "Oh my god, it can't get any more wrong."

Rating of
2/4

Alex - wrote on 07/05/2007

Gross, repulsive, but sometimes entertaining and funny. Seriously, though, this film could never have been made and I would have been happy.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?