Gone with the Wind Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/27/2019

While still impressive on a technical scale, "Gone With the Wind" couldn't be more problematic today. Even if you look past the romanticizing of toxic romances and the Civil War-era South, the drama is insufferably slow and boring.

Rating of
2.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 06/04/2012

Yes, it is a good drama, but it's one that doesn't need to be three hours long. The film just drags in too many spots and I lost most all sympathy for Scarlett. When Rhett says that famous line, at the end of the film, I felt like I couldn't agree more with him.

Rating of
2/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/16/2011

I must have fallen on my head too many times growing up. Frankly, I just think this film is OK. I don't know why I can't fawn over it. All filmsters must watch it at least once.

Rating of
4/4

patjohnson76 - wrote on 11/28/2011

It's been awhile since I've seen this classic all the way through, but this past Thanksgiving I caught a majority of it on TV and it is still one of the greatest films in history. To think it was created in 1939 is astounding as it still holds up well today (but then again, so do a lot of films from 1939, the greatest year in film history). Plenty of iconic lines, characters, actors, and shots - the scene of the silhouetted Scarlet at the end of Part One stands out. Truly one of the best.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/18/2011

There's a lot to like in this iconic film. The performances are charming and nuanced, somehow becoming more than a telling of a cookie-cutter romance. The cinematography, particularly, is impressive, especially the scenes involving the Civil War battlefield.

Rating of
2.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 03/18/2011

I like epic films, but the good ones (Lawrence of Arabia - Ghandi come to mind) have the scope, but also have pacing. The problem with Gone With the Wind is that it's an epic that drags - I know I have to struggle not to fall asleep. A classic, but one that I find it hard to live up to its billing.

Rating of
1/4

TheManWithNoName - wrote on 09/10/2009

I deplore this movie. Scarlett O'Hara may just be the biggest whore in the history of cinema but people praise her character!? WTF? Also since I'm pretty much everything the South was for in the Civil War, I don't like that this film tends to glorify them (and I live somewhat in the south).

Rating of
4/4

Freddie - wrote on 10/25/2008

I thought this movie was going to be horrible and boring. However, it turned out to be really good. I really loved it. It was really long, but I was actually okay sitting through it. It's a nice story. I actually wouldn't mind watching it again.

Rating of
3/4

Gabe - wrote on 07/27/2007

I probably should've only given the movie 2.5 or 3 stars, but the cinematography is beautiful. However, Vivien Leigh made me want to put a bullet in my head. Kudos to the Academy though for giving Hattie McDaniel an Oscar for best supporting actress, she was the first African American to win one.

Rating of
1.5/4

Alex - wrote on 01/07/2007

I started watching this movie in 2001 and I woke up in 2002 and it was still playing. To me, it was boring and very very over acted. It may be a "classic" (what is a cliassic?) but it is dated!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?