The Fountain Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/10/2019

"The Fountain" might be a little confusing, but by the end, everything should be made clear.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 01/28/2014

'The Fountain' is a hard one to describe. It's best left to be experienced by the viewer. The unique thing about that is every single person will have a different reaction to this film. The way in which the three areas of the story combine through remarkable visuals and extremely emotional music is something to be admired. These facets present profound ideas about life, love, and death. The messages integrated into the story are open to interpretation. The more you bring to it, the greater an emotional effect it will have on you. It's not often a film manages to be this entertaining, bold, intellectual, and immensely moving all at once.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/20/2012

This is a film that bears a second viewing. Aronofsky, while certainly not the most accessible director, is one of the most visionary young talents in Hollywood and this film is a masterpiece meditation on love, dreams, and loss. Visually told through parallel universes (or storylines?), it's a layered and nuanced cinematic puzzle.

Rating of
0.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 08/22/2011

Way to weird for me.I actually got a headache watching it

Rating of
3.5/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 04/12/2010

Darren Aronofsky's films never cease to surprise me and make me think. In "The Fountain," Jackman's performance sizzles with elegant intensity, and Rachel Weisz's beauty is unsurpassed. A romantic film set in three different time periods, the legendary story of the fountain of youth comes to a new interpretation that will be a constant reference for later years. A beautiful film by one of today's brimming new talents.

Rating of
N/A

James-and-Kate - wrote on 02/23/2009

A film all about death - in the religious sense. About god, life, loss and fear. There are three intertwined plots - the man haunted by everlasting life; a scientist seeking a cure for his ill wife; and, the conquistadors. Best thing that Aranofsy (Pi; Wrestler) has ever done - also Jackamn and Weisz's best work. Great score. Apparently it divides opinions.I was meant to be a Pitt/Blanchet vehicle, but it didn't work out due to artistic differences. This makes me hold a low opinion of Brad Pitt's judgement. In my view - it divides between people with a soul and people who are soul-less.

Rating of
2.5/4

DB - wrote on 04/21/2008

I got the overall point of the film but the three different story lines that intertwined kept me thinking instead of enjoying. Visually appealing and above average acting but was missing that factor that puts into a great movie.

Rating of
3/4

Taz - wrote on 04/13/2008

I had wanted to see this movie for awhile. I finally borrowed a copy from a friend and it was amazing, amazingly depressing that is. Don't get me wrong it was a great movie but I never EVER want to see it again. I was depressed for about an hour afterwards. If you watch this movie I recommend that you leave enough time to watch something funny or uplifting afterwards.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 01/28/2008

Not as depressing as Requiem for a Dream, but not too heartwarming, either. Darren Aronofsky has great vision - as dreary as it can be sometimes, and this is an amazing vision. Just don't expect much warmth out of it.

Rating of
2.5/4

MionaMoon - wrote on 10/16/2007

This film surely is strange and gloomy but it was visually very beautiful and artistic. I didn't really understand the story so well because it jumped from future to past and the other way round. Anyway, I love Hugh Jackman and Rachel Weisz. It has many themes which might interest to some people like for example this film had scenes of animal testing and stories about God and all sorts of ethical things. There also seemed to be some sort of Maya or Aztec culture in one part. Basically this is a story of strong love and the pain of letting go. This man wants to find the cure for his wife's illness and doesn't want to give up no matter what. So he spends most of the time in the laboratory than with his dying wife.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?