A Few Good Men Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Frank - wrote on 12/03/2013

This is, without a doubt, my favorite courtroom drama and my favorite Tom Cruise film! Everything is great about this film: The acting, the script, the music, etc. The courtroom scene between Cruise and Nicholson is so epic! I practically have that scene memorized! The "Galactically Stupid" scene is pretty awesome too! I love Rob Reiner. He is a great director, and this is his best, in my opinion. I would have given the Best Picture Oscar to this film in 1992. Without a doubt, it's in my top 20!

Rating of
1.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 10/07/2012

I sincerely struggle to think of ONE good film with Demi Moore in it. Over-rated courtroom tosh with THAT line in it. Which isn't a very good line anyway...

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 01/18/2012

An intense military drama that, unfortunately, portrays a seedier view of the military behind the scenes. All of the cast are strong, including Cruise in an unusually nuanced dramatic role and Jack Nicholson as a sarcastic and villainous officer.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/15/2011

I can't take the...huh? Tense and ugly. How many sicko military people can we be presented with? Somebody's stealing the strawberries, click click.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/09/2011

Started off on glossy Hollywood ground. Lots of named, good-looking actors spouting unconvincing 'movie' dialogue trying to be witty or funny. It wasn't until things finally settled, focusing squarely with the trial and it's implications, that I started to warm up to the film. There is a morally confused dilemma at hand involving the codes between officers and officials. The case becomes increasingly hard for the defense and, as a result, leads to some great courtroom scenes, including the now famous Cruise/Nicholson standoff. The final exchange with the defendants is a great satisfactory end to a complicated issue.

Rating of
3/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 07/30/2011

An All-Star cast that deserves a winning script and director. The story is good from the beginning with proper introductions to each character. Obviously, the antagonists performances outweigh the main leads. Col. Nathan Jessep is one memorable figure that Jack Nicholson portrayed brilliantly. It symbolizes Don Corleone in the military giving "the order." The supporting cast did a well deserved job in making the scenes believable. You can really see the rage in his eyes during the courtroom sequence. One of the best courtroom dramas along with And Justice for All and Primal Fear.

Rating of
3/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/02/2011

ustice. While the plot is very smart and the performances knock your socks off, in the end, I felt this movie leaves us with a very negative view of the men whose blanket of security we sleep under.

Rating of
2/4

TheHitchcockAffair - wrote on 11/08/2010

Let me be crystal clear, 'A Few Good Men' is a pretty good film. However, I feel strongly that it is the remarkable performance of Jack Nicholson that really keeps the film above water. In fact, if it were not for Jack, I fear this one would have barely been recognized. Tom Cruise has his moments, and Demi Moore is well, Demi Moore. It's been a real struggle for me to take Moore seriously in many pictures. Keifer Sutherland is a bright spot. I found Reiner's overall direction to be average in terms of courtroom dramas. Again, for me, Col. Nathan Jessep is the only real reason for the success of 'AFGM'! Not a bad movie, but far from extraordinary. B-

Rating of
3.5/4

Judge - wrote on 10/27/2010

This movie is suprisingly great. The acting is superb and it has some gr8 scenes. This might be Nicholson's best performance that I've seen him in. I love the lunch scene in Cuba when he's talking to them.

Rating of
4/4

mdtinney - wrote on 05/10/2009

Rob "Meathead" Reiner directs an all-star cast in the courtroom drama that involves 2 Marines that are accused of murdering a fellow Marine at Git-mo in Cuba. Lt. Daniel Caffey (Cruise) is assigned the task of defending them, but there is a big problem, he has never been in a courtroom because of his Plea Bargin Track Record. The movie is well directed and draws from th acting strengths of Cruise , Demi Moore, Kevin Pollak, Kiefer Sutherland, and even Kevin "Six Degrees" Bacon. But the star of the film is Jack Nicholson's portrayal of Col. Nathan Jessep. The gritty and intense performance by Jack should have won him an Acadamy Award!! And the " You can't Handle the Truth" speech is top notch and on of the best.. A must see!!!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?