Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 08/12/2014

It's not the worst comic book movie that I have seen, but it's not good.

Rating of
1.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 08/05/2011

Only a slight improvement over the first. The action is better, but the characters are still underwritten and given sit-com situational problems. The Silver Surfer is more interesting than the Fantastic 4. He should've had more screen time.

Rating of
2/4

sapien - wrote on 04/07/2011

From what I can remember of it, I didn't particularly care for it. But, it is a superhero movie, so it does have that going for it.

Rating of
1/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 02/05/2011

This film takes all the potentially cool concepts about the Fantastic Four comic book series and buries them under wooden acting, poor bits of humor, and a messy plot. Galactus appears not as the fearsome alien being, as he does in the comics, but as a storm. That pretty much sums up this film, which sidesteps the opportunity to make a darker film, and, instead, goes for the silly and easy mark.

Rating of
2.5/4

The Movie Man - wrote on 05/13/2009

Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer is an average movie that is in many ways better than the original. Better Direction and Slightly Improved (although still corny) Dialogue. The cast is still fun with Jessica Alba giving a charming performance and Kerry Washington(underrated) is good in a very small performance but they're sadly outdone by the CGI Silver Surfer who gives the best performance in the film! Julian Mcmahon is very wasted. The film is fun to watch and is suprisingly never boring, if only the story were more involving.

Rating of
2.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 05/10/2008

I liked this more than the first, which had to deal with a rather unappealing origin story and villain. The SIlver Surfer is a much better character and the story much better. It didn't win me over, but at least it's an improvement.

Rating of
1.5/4

GGauthier - wrote on 11/26/2007

Ioan Gruffudd has no charming at all. Jessica Alba is so changed, that seems like a Honda 2000 tunned and modified (what the hell?) and Chris Evans has charming, but is not the leader so, who cares? Fantastic 4 is definitely to me the less interesting super heroes ever, and a this one, a very boring movie.

Rating of
2.5/4

The Dark Knight - wrote on 11/16/2007

I'm a huge superhero guy. I love it when they stick to the story. But not all of course. I was not pleased with the first and hope they improved it for the second one. They failed. The story was ok. Seeing a blond, blue eyed Jessica Alba was sickening. Silver Surfer on the other hand was amazing! Samuel J.'s voice though did not suit him. And Galactus being a huge cloud???? No comment!

Rating of
2.5/4

patjohnson76 - wrote on 11/07/2007

This movie isn't great, but it doesn't pretend to be. If you want to see the Fantastic Four in a movie-adventure, then you should find this enjoyable. It reminded me of X-Men 3. There's a lot of action, not a whole lot of story. It's not bad by any means, it's not great either, but it's an enjoyable super hero movie. It's not even 90 minutes long so that helps, but a little extra time for plot development might have helped.

Rating of
0.5/4

Allison - wrote on 10/13/2007

Nathalie no like this movie. Natthink this is the worst movie of the year :( TEN TOP WORST MOVIES OF 2007 (see list)

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?