The Exorcist Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/04/2019

Unforgettably horrifying, "The Exorcist" is still just as terrifyingly scary and terrifyingly well-acted today as it was in the early 70s. It was a movie that forever changed horror films in Hollywood.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 07/23/2014

The film is about a little girl is possessed by a demon. Can the Catholic church save her. This movie is pure creepy and pure gross. That image of the demon that you see not a lot, that face is just so freaky and it makes me jump every time I see it. The movie left a scary and a chilling in me after I finished watching it. The movie has its problems like the film at times does slow down a little bit. But overall The Exorcist is a horror movie that sticks with you after it's over. Leaving a uneasy feeling on you that a lot of people had back in 70's.

Rating of
4/4

Camper - wrote on 07/02/2013

I watched for the first time when I was about fourteen, and I was not expecting much. In my mind I thought "How could this movie still possibly be scary? It was made in 1973." God was I wrong. I think I actually screamed when Reagan came down the stairs on her hands and feet. Just a classic, forever horrifying film.

Rating of
4/4

PandaMonium - wrote on 10/30/2012

What need be said about THE EXORCIST, one of the most notoriously frightening films ever made? That despite being made in 1973, it still stands up as one of the most intense horror experiences to date? That the effects still look fantastic and the story is superbly paced? That the music is top notch and the performances are excellent on all fronts? That its effect on the horror genre was monumental and that without this film, horror would look nothing like it does today? You already know all of that. Now, if you still haven't seen this absolute classic of horror cinema, go and watch it right now. You cannot call yourself a horror fan - or a cinephile in general - until you do.

Rating of
1.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 05/26/2012

I have only just seen this film (to my shame!) and I must admit, I was disappointed. I can only assume that the constant barrage of copycats and parodies that followed have removed any surprises, as I wasn't remotely scared or even shocked by any of it (in fact I found the exorcism sequence rather laughable). It's merely a nicely shot theological thriller with brief bursts of violence and foul language, and a story containing a series of seemingly unrelated plot threads that do not tie together satisfactorily (if at all). Oh well...

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 11/18/2011

The Exorcist is, without a doubt, one of the most frightening films in existence. From the haunting performances, to the creepy soundtrack, to the devilish special effects, it is full of shocking and terrifying moments. Often very difficult to watch, but also one of the best scary movies ever.

Rating of
4/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 06/27/2011

Flawless storytelling and a masterful evocation of terror are rarely found in films of this variety, yet they emanate with such a resplendence in 'The Exorcist' that one cannot fathom how such a film as this could even possess an exploitative air (regardless of the sour impression that the works of philistines such as George A. Romero and Eli Roth would have left long ago). Note: I recommend the 'Version You've Never Seen' over the original cut.

Rating of
N/A

hham - wrote on 05/21/2011

For a movie that has the reputation of the scariest film of all time, it was extremely low key in the horror department. I am a person who despises any monstrosity of any form, and I will be the first to admit how much of a wimp I am at watching those type of films. However, this movie was a disappointment to the genre of horror. The film was unrealistic and laughable.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 06/05/2010

I have yet to see a better movie involving exorcism. It's a thoroughly entertaining film that is shocking in all the right ways.

Rating of
4/4

Aza - wrote on 11/10/2009

A fantastic horror classic which delivered some awesome scares and extraordinary performances.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?