The Doors Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/17/2019

Val Kilmer's performance is worthy of applause, but the film is an unglamorous, overlong, and forgettable telling of the music legend's career.

Rating of
2/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 07/08/2012

I don't like The Doors, so I'm a bit biased, but Val Kilmer does a decent impersonation of the pompous, arrogant, self important twat in a biopic that's rather too steeped in hero worship. Nicely shot and a good sense of period though.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 01/15/2012

An effective biopic that does an excellent job at exploring the torture and intrigue behind Jim Morrison. The film, as with most of Stone's films, is a little overlong and ambitious, but Val Kilmer's nuanced performace hits home, for the most part.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/09/2011

'Doors' fans will most likely enjoy this. Val Kilmer has never been better.

Rating of
2.5/4

sapien - wrote on 02/05/2010

It was an ok movie. Not too bad, but not too good either.

Rating of
2/4

The Movie Man - wrote on 05/19/2009

The Doors is an interesting story that ends up being one big disaster. Oliver Stone's direction is blurry and his screenplay(which he wrote with Randall Jahnson.) is surprisingly sloppy and weak. Val Kilmer gives one of his best performances as Jim Morrison and Meg Ryan is good as his love interest. The film never gives enough information about Jim Morrisons life to make you care about him and because of that, the film seems to go on forever, even at it's overlong running time. Note: I saw this movie on Television, so the uncut version might be better.

Rating of
2/4

Gabe - wrote on 05/05/2008

One of the most pompous and over-the-top movies I've ever seen. Val Kilmer is fantastic as Jim Morrison, but the movie is not cohesive at all. It seems like just a bunch of random scenes that happen.

Rating of
2/4

Allison - wrote on 12/22/2007

The movie was pretty good, except I felt Meg Ryan was a tad out of place, just a pretty face. It sort of illuminated me and gave me an education about The Doors though. Come on Oliver Stone, light my fire. No, that sounds a tad too wrong. I don't remember Kyle MacLachlan at all.

Rating of
2/4

jmoney1776 - wrote on 10/27/2007

This movie is so funny that it's hard to believe it's not a comedy. Maybe the worst movie about rock and roll ever made, but so good in so many wrong ways. A beautiful train wreck.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 08/17/2007

I don't know what this film would be without Val Kilmer. He channels Jim Morrison in look and feel. He makes this film work and owns the role. Like many of Stone's work, it gets self-indulgent, but in this case it helps the film.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?