The Da Vinci Code Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
1.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 08/26/2016

Howard and Hanks team up to deliver a mystery/thriller based on a successful series of novels... and it kinda falls flat. The initial mystery driving the film is interesting. The whole conceit of religious documents and historical facts being intertwined in a way that could upend some previously held beliefs is intriguing. The ending of the film carries that point on, but it comes after a much elongated, slow-moving thriller with a typical bad guy plot wedged halfway through that feels needless and cliche. Maybe in the novel this stuff didn't feel as forced. As for the film, it just shows the flaws of the original story and leaves all thrills and character development at the door.

Rating of
1.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 03/08/2014

The story is about a murder in Louvre leads a cryptologist on a quest to uncover a secret that could rock the Christian world. The story is too deep and the acting is boring same as the directing.

Rating of
1.5/4

Old Winter - wrote on 11/13/2012

The book read like a film and I had high hopes with Tom Hanks taking the lead. I probably put too much faith in Tom Hanks as the book was pure hokum and I ceased to read it when about 3/4 of the way through I realised people were actually taking it seriously. The characters were difficult to engage with emotionally, they were just cookie cutter stuff. Difficult not to laugh when Hanks character shouts "I've got to get to a library... Fast!" Must be a movie first and worth half a star itself.

Rating of
1.5/4

sapien - wrote on 01/07/2012

It was really rather overrated. And full of conspiracy theories.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/16/2011

Look, the answers are all around us. Who doesn't like conspiracies and secret secret organizations? Not to mention the mysteries of the Catholic world.

Rating of
2/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/07/2011

Adapting a book where puzzles and cryptids play a significant role in the plot inevitably results in a film that struggles to sustain a tension-filled pace. Paul Bettany is a chilling villain, but the Da Vinci Code novel is just too expansive and elaborate of a work to be properly adapted without feeling short-changed and uneven.

Rating of
2.5/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 01/22/2010

Murder and intrigue in Paris, this movie was not wha I expected after having read the book. Tom Hanks and Ian McKellan both did well, but as a whole, I'm sure that this movie would have been better if the script was kept more simply. It held close to the plot of the book, but not the visuals. Still, watch it if you're in the mood for a good mystery.

Rating of
3/4

BmovieJosh - wrote on 10/01/2009

This is one of my favorite books ever written. I was so stoked to see the film and I have to say it was a excellent film. It followed the novel very well, except the end, but it was well made and highly entertaining. I would suggest this film to someone who like the book.

Rating of
3/4

goodfellamike - wrote on 10/27/2008

An intriguing thriller that poses some very interesting religious theories when it isn't too busy giving us standard chase moments; Ian McKellen is perfectly cast, but the whole thing is weighed down by a miscast Tom Hanks, who simply refuses to participate in the proceedings with much enthusiasm. Final Grade: B

Rating of
3/4

frenchfreyteetor - wrote on 03/08/2008

Read the book then see the movie. The book was much better but the movie wasn't bad.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?