Source Code Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 08/01/2014

The film is about a soldier takes part in an experimental procedure to solve a train bombing. His consciousness is transferred to the body of a commuter where he experiences the bombing over and over again until he can track down the culprit. This movie has clever writing and brilliant directing. but the one problem I had with this movie is it's way to short.

Rating of
3/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 07/07/2013

A really smart film. Unfortunately, it was also forgotten by many people, partly due its release date in Spring 2011; it came out in the weird months prior to blockbuster season. The repeating 8 minute scene never gets old as director Duncan Jones (Moon) proves he is a solid director in his second directorial effort.

Rating of
4/4

Joshu - wrote on 08/30/2011

This is one of the best films of 2011. I just love how it involves brain work. It has plenty of action and a little emotions to back it up. It might be confusing in the beginning but in the end, all is clear. It obviously outdid the matrix, and was almost at the same level as inception, but all the same this film kicked ass. It is recommendable to anybody who wants a real movie

Rating of
4/4

Chris Mitchell-Lay - wrote on 08/14/2011

This title has a perfect mix of action, humour and social observation. I normally hate when people comment on the social observations made in a film but this one left me feel chipper and slightly care free, but in a good way, not the mass murdering way. The skill shown by the director and writers allow for the film to tell a hell of a story and the scene where the father is called left me wiping tears from my eyes. In my books, this is the best film to have EVER graced the screen. I know, slightly drastic but that is how I genuinely feel.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 08/14/2011

A satisfying amalgam of different films that puts its own twist on things. Jake Gyllenhaal actually shows some surprising range and works quite well with Michelle Monaghan and Vera Farmiga was good as well. It's not as predictable as I was expecting and quite entertaining. Sci fi fans should be happy.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/13/2011

An absorbing sci-fi thriller that manages to remain high concept, while simultaneously becoming more about the characters than about the technology of the plot. Jake Gyllenhaal is fantastic, bringing life to a character that could easily have become a mindless action hero. The film is, on the surface, about solving a bomb plot, but, by the end, it becomes more about the redemption of its characters. One of 2011's best.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 04/15/2011

Unlike a few other films that revisit the same scenario multiple times, this one made me look forward to seeing those eight minutes over again. I was invested in this story right from the beginning and the movie delivered on all fronts. It's an extremely entertaining piece of cinema that I recommend to everyone. My only quibble is with the 'double' ending. Without spoiling anything, I'll just say that had the movie ended at the moment I thought it was going to I would've been satisfied and complimented the film for ending in such a way. It also left me with one burning question that I'll never get the answer to, because of one minor detail that was left unexplained.

Rating of
3.5/4

patjohnson76 - wrote on 04/12/2011

Surprisingly strong, given it's concept, but I'd say it's thanks to some good performances, direction, and a script that works. Though this film borrows from some themes we've seen before from movies (12 Monkeys, The Matrix) and television (Quantum Leap and Lost come to mind), these themes come together pretty well and present an ending that offers some debate, but not in a frustrating way. I was a little hesitant on this but in the end it's a great movie. It's a shame it isn't doing better at the box office, people are missing out.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?